newest entry

September 11, 2001

2001-11-28 - 9:34 p.m.

I remember when I was a child, and how I couldn't wait to be an adult. I used to think and talk about things I would do when I grew up. Do kids today have that same luxury?? With threats of terrorist attacks, biological weapons, nuclear weapons, and holy war, do children today have the luxury of being able to say "When I grow up.." with the same certainty that adults today had?? I don't think so. As a child, I knew what a terrorist was and I knew what one did. Nuclear weapons was something I knew existed. How often were these things mentioned in the news?? Rarely. In fact the only real reference I had to what a nuclear weapon was until a few months ago was the movie "Terminator 2: Judgment Day". As for terrorists, not counting the Oklahoma City bombing, the only time we heard about terrorists were when it happened to other countries.

Growing up I always felt secure. I knew bad things happened in the world. I knew that not everyone was as sweet and as full of goodness. But the sense of security I had was still there. I didn't worry about someone settting off a bomb that would kill millions in a matter of seconds. I didn't worry about planes being hijacked and crashing into buildings. I used to believe that this country was safe. My belief in that has been proven wrong. And from what I am seeing it hasn't been safe for a long time, but at least before September 11, I could keep believing in that and not worry about if I'll be here in 10 years instead of where I'll be in 10 years which is what I used to wonder. I was wrong to be so naive in thinking that this country was completely invincible to terrorists. But if I had to choose between having a false sense of security and having a true sense of fear, I'd choose the false sense of security.

This country may become as safe as it should be but the sense of security I had growing up and kept having until the morning of September 11, 2001 will never return. Is that a good thing? Some people knew the truth. They knew this country was just a sitting duck for terrorists. I didn't know that. I was brought up to believe the United States was the biggest, toughest, unbeatable nation in the world. Maybe it is and these hijackers just caught us at a weak moment.

More than human lives were lost that day. The sense of security so many of us had and relied on for so long. The lives and the security is something no one in this country will recover from. And just like those thousands of lives that ended on September 11, 2001, our complete feeling of security will never come back.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005