newest entry

2002 Olympics

2002-02-24 - 10:23 p.m.

The 2002 Olympics are officially ending as this entry is being written. I have to admit I was not overly impressed with this Olympics. I'm not sure if it was the nonstop scandals or that I just didn't have much interest in them to begin with. I think it's a combination. The scandals were interesting to hear about at first. After awhile though, there was more coverage on the scandals than on the events. Also a few times my mind would wander into the shows I was currently missing so the Olympics could be on.

Usually the ice skating is fun to watch and I make sure to watch it. This year, I think I maybe watched 5 minutes of it. I didn't even know who won the women's ice skating until the day after.

My husband got into the Olympics this year and it's not that I didn't care about the events. It was that I just didn't think about it. I'd see them on and watch a few minutes here and there and I meant to watch more. I don't know what was wrong with me. I should have watched more. I wish I had actually. The only event I really watched much of was when they ice skate around a track to see who can go the fastest. Although, I found that rather boring.

My husband got into the hockey games and he REALLY got into it. During the games I could hear him yelling and cheering from another room. I kept smiling everytime I heard him. It's fun watching him really get into something and get really excited over it. He loves to learn a bunch of things and share what he learns about them. I love watching him while he tells them. He has this look that you can tell he's so exicted about what he's learned and he wants to tell all about it.

I guess everyone knows by now that U.S.A. lost to Canada in the hockey game. I can admit that at first I didn't really care what team won. They're both good teams and I've only seen a couple hockey games in my life. Then I read someone's profile saying how Canada ruled and they were going to beat the U.S.A. because the U.S.A. sucked. Reading that made me want the U.S.A. to win and rub it in. I found myself watching the last few minutes today and cheering for the U.S.A. just as loud as my husband and being slightly upset when Canada took the gold. Oh well, if U.S.A. can't win, at least Canada did.

There were way too many scandals on this year's Olympics. My husband said if the scandals kept up we might have another war on our hands. I told him that 9-11 united the world and the Olympics might tear it apart.

CNN's website asked if you could give the Olympics a medal which one would you give it?? I can't really answer that with 100% certainty. If I had to give it a grade though I'd say a "C" because of the numerous scandals and lack of interest I had in this Olympics.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005