newest entry

21 Gun Salute

2001-12-29 - 11:02 p.m.

I'm going to request advanced forgivness for this entry and hope that I do not offend anyone.

I was watching "Mr. Holland's Opus" on tv with my husband today. It's a wonderful movie that I try to watch everytime I catch it on tv, which lately seems to be every other day. Well, I noticed something that I hadn't really thought of until now and I feel I should mention it. Again, I hope I do not offend anyone with what I am about to say. When someone in the miltary dies, usually in combat they do a salute to that individual with a salute by firing several rifles into the air in sequence. Now..maybe it's just me but if a person dies in combat, most likely from a gunshot wound wouldn't doing that salute border on disrespectful?? I mean if my son died in combat from being shot, and I was sitting there at the funeral, distraught over my son's ill-timed death, and I heard that salute, I would be horrified. It would be like a reminder of how my son had died. I would instantly think about a sound just like that was one of the last things that my son heard, and the thing that made that noise caused my son's death. Maybe it's just me but it seems almost disrespectful to do a salute to a soldier that involves using something that was the cause of that soldier's death.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005