newest entry

IHOPping Right Out Of There

Wednesday, Nov. 05, 2003 - 10:07 p.m.

There are days when you think you should have stayed in bed..then there are days when you KNOW you should have. Today was the latter.

The day started off well..considering I slept off and on during it. I'm back on my "stay up all night and sleep most of the day" schedule. Dec21 and I decided to call my parents and ask if they wanted to go out to dinner. I was even in the mood to perhaps pay for everyone. Well my mother agreed for all of us to go out for dinner but gave the impression (and later confirmed) that they would pay. She also said to come over right away..which we did.

When we got over there my mother was sitting down and her and my father were wanting us to look at the computer..when we did we were shown a couple pages on the site that he goes to for his college basketball and guess what!! He's been scheduled not one..not two..but 4 games..and that is just for the next 2 months. At first he thought he might get 1, maybe 2 games..then he was beginning to think he wasn't going to get any this season. I would have loved to have seen his face when he saw that. My mother said when she came home he looked like the cat that ate the canary. Oh and get this..he's known since 10:30am this morning and went and told someone at then rec center he goes to all the time before he told his own family!! I guess that shows our place on his priority ladder.

Anyways, I think this is really great and you can tell my father can't contain his happiness. I told him I was proud of him and I am. I told him that he should print out copies of his schedule and hand each one of those assholes who never believed it would happen. It would serve them right. I also think he should print it out, frame it and put it up on in the den. This may sound silly but I was even thinking of calling the part of the newspaper that does articles on people in the area. They don't do articles on big things..they are just regular people that have done something worth reading about. I think this would qualify...considering no one else in this area has made it into the college basketball association.

We all decided to go to IHOP. Although to be honest it surprised me that my mother wanted to go there considering she HATES the place with a passion most of the time. My father still on cloud 9 from finding out his games couldn't drive at all. He almost drove into the ditch, he drove halfway into a intersection at a red light then tried to go when the light was still red. Anyways we go there..we get a waiter that Dec21 and I have seen there several times before. So far everything's okay. But it doesn't stay that way. For starters Dec21's drink was flat and he had to get a new one. It took about 40 minutes to get anything to eat. They are supposed to bring the salads out first but instead they brought the main meals out THEN they brought the salads 2 minutes later. So you can either eat the main meal and may not be in the mood for the salad or eat the salad and let your food get cold. As for me..I just combined it. I went back and forth eating a bite here, a bite there. Of course it didn't help that the dumb ass waiter didn't bring any condiments for about 20 minutes. He also tried to cheat me out of a dressing saying he wasn't ALLOWED to give extra dressing..yeah whatever.

Oh and it gets better. That was just went wrong with MY meal. My mother's meal was okay and when she ordered coffee, he gave her an empty cup and a full pot for herself. Now is that helpful or him being lazy?? I'm not too sure. My father ordered the all you can eat shrimp. That was a mistake and a half. The waiter brought about 6 pieces and we told them to bring more because we all KNEW my father could and WOULD eat more. The waiter said okay. Yeah we would soon learn "okay" meant "later okay??" It takes another 30 minutes to get more shrimp. The waiter kept forgetting to tell the cook and the cook did who knows what. Then it takes about 45 MORE minutes to get a 3rd order of shrimp. We even told the waiter to bring more shrimp once the 2nd plate was delievered because we knew it would take forever. Hell my father was done for at least 30 minutes before the 3rd order came. When the 3rd order was brought the waiter said "The cook wants me to tell you that is the last of the shrimp we have." So much for an all you can eat. My father also didn't get any condiments for at least 20 minutes.

Now for the "What the hell??" moment. Dec21 ordered a T-Bone steak and eggs. Simple right?? WRONG!! First they didn't bring the pancakes that come with the meal. The damn waiter didn't even know that pancakes come with it. But the most interesting thing was the steak. Now it's pretty easy to tell what a T-Bone steak looks like. It's a chunk of meat stuck to a bone that's the shape of a T. Once you get done eating the meat you've got a giant T on your plate. Well...this steak..was well..NOT in the shape of a T..a different color than a T-Bone AND it didn't even have a single bone in it. The waiter brought Dec21 an entirely different steak (a cheaper one at that) and tried to pass it off as a T-Bone. He even walked away like he had done his job and wanted to quickly get out before it was found out. Well when he finally showed his face again we told him that the steak was NO T-Bone. He said "Oh umm yeah..you see we ran out of T-Bones so I brought that one instead. But you'll be charged the same price." Excuse me?!?! How in the hell does that make sense?? What kind of lame ass resturant runs out of something a customer requests then doesn't have the decency to tell the customer that but insteads replaces it with something that's cheaper and not nearly the same quality, then tries to pass it off as the more expensive steak and even tries to charge you for the more expensive steak that you of course didn't get it?!?!?! That is such bullshit!! The very least that asshole waiter could have done was come and said they ran out of T-Bone steak and ask Dec21 what he would want instead. Am I the ONLY one who finds that unbelievable and extremely disrespectful?? Just how STUUUUUUPID did that waiter think we all were??

You know it really confuses me. The place wasn't that crowded and tons of people were getting pissed off too. My mother decided to go and complain before we left and I just had to go with her. She told me not to say anything and let her handle it. I figured that was a fair request. There was a couple in front of us who got tired of waiting forever and a day and decided to leave..yet they agreed to pay for their drinks. I wouldn't have but hey that's me. One of the waitresses at a table near the register said that it was unlimited pancakes. My mother said it a not so quiet voice "Don't believe it..they said unlimited shrimp and it's not." I was trying my best not to laugh..but it was SO hard. I LOVE when my mother gets in these kick ass moods and Dec21 nor I aren't the targets. The manager was at the register and the people directly in front of us didn't have anything to complain about...shocking huh?? The manager said "I'm so afraid to ask if everything went okay." My mother said "Don't be afraid...just WAIT!!" Hearing that just reconfirmed my opinion that this was going to be a show not to miss!!

My mother got to the manager and started complaining. I kept my end of the deal and didn't talk. My mother even wrote down every single complaint. She said she had to because there were so many things that went wrong she had to keep notes to remember. On the ticket..they tried to charge over 40 dollars..yeah right!! They tried charging for a fake T-Bone, my salad and fries that are supposed to come with my meal and my father's side dishes that were supposed to come with his. My mother said "Come here and look at this honey because I am MAD!!" The manager tried to claim the bread we ordered was an appetizer not a side item. Sorry lady but you are WRONG!! She should have known the menu by now in my opinion. Anyways..she kept looking at my mother like "No you're wrong..you're wrong." Then she looked at me for confirmation of what my mothe was saying. All I did was just look at her with all seriousness and nodded. Then she was like "Oh..okay." in a very nervous voice. Then she said that they would take care of the entire ticket. Hell for all that shit they put us thru we should get money from them.

We finally left after being there nearly 2 hours. We actually couldn't wait to get out of there. But you know, despite the problems it wasn't that bad a meal and the experience was quite funny and definitely one to remember. But guess what..the day isn't over yet..there is more.

We went back to my parents' house and my mother finds out that the evil aunt of mine that was in the hospital who they thought was going to die is having more problems. Her husband had a stroke today and it looks like she also had a stroke at the same time he did so they were both taken to the hospital. Then one of their daughters was SO upset by this she found herself needing to be taken to the hospital as well. Now what are the odds of all this?? I think winning a multimillion dollar lottery with a ticket you find on the street is more likely to happen than this.

So what do you think..should we have stayed in bed today??


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005