newest entry

Airplanes

2002-02-16 - 1:44 p.m.

Have you ever heard a plane go by above you and wonder about it?? Like for example, how many people are in it, whose in it, what are they doing and where are they going?? A couple planes have flown over just in the last couple hours and it got me wondering. I didn't used to wonder so much about planes before 9-11. I'm not too sure why. Maybe it's because there's this little thought in the back of my mind wondering if any terrorists are on that specific plane that's flying over me. For the first couple weeks after the terrorist attacks every time I looked up in the sky and saw something that resembled a plane I got scared. Although the chances of a plane actually having terrorists over it flying over me and actually crashing exactly where I am at that particular moment is higher than winning the lottery.

I've never been on an airplane. Flying is a fear I've had my entire life. My husband thinks I should get on a plane at least once and he's determined to get me on one. He said if I got one I would see there's no big deal to it. A couple times I actually thought I could get on a plane without worrying. Each time though within 24 hours a major plane crash happened. I'm beginning to wonder if that's a sign I shouldn't get on a plane.

My mother flew in a plane for the first time on a business trip a few years ago and she now loves flying. She went on and on about it for weeks. However, she has yet to get on one again. Interesting huh?? She goes on about how much she loves flying yet hasn't gotten back on a plane. My husband has flown numerous times. He's been on more planes than years I've been alive. My father has never gotten on a plane even though when I was a kid he was the one trying to talk me and my mother into getting on a plane.

I'm not really afraid of heights so that's not the reason flying scares me. I mean, heights scare me a little but not a lot. I used to climb a lot of trees and fences as a child and I never got scared doing that. My husband tells me there are more auto accidents than plane crashes and I'll agree that is probably true. But..in a car there's more control involved. If there's bad weather, you can pull over or ask the person whose driving to pull over. When you fly, you're surrending your feeling of control. If you get scared you basically have to hold on and bare it. I think that's what it is. The loss of control when it comes to flying and the increase in chances of death if there's an accident compared to in a car. Also, how many cars have you heard about crashing into oceans??

Will I ever get on a plane?? I think I will some day. I'll of course make sure my husband is right next to me holding my hand and hopefully holding me close as well.

I've flown in a helicopter once. It was a 5 minute ride that my parents insisted upon. It was ok. I spent the entire ride saying "Oh God." You would think if I could ride a helicopter I could get on a plane.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005