newest entry

The Backout Of 2003

Thursday, Aug. 14, 2003 - 10:32 p.m.

Well well well..a few major cities in our wonderful continent have been left in the dark. I will admit that while Dec21 and I were watching tv and the show we were watching got interrupted for a "Special Report", hearing about this selective blackout was about the last thing I expected. Millions of people covering the streets while 1 car for every 20 people walking tried to do the same. No lights, no air conditioning, not a single luxury..oh what a shame. I'm sorry but I don't have too much sympathy over this incident.

First of all I will say that I can sympathize with everyone in the cities who were in bright rooms with air conditioning going on like normal and then BAM..complete darkness. Personally I would have been racing outside and fully expecting a nuclear bomb to detonate any second or for a reinactment of ID4 when the aliens arrived. Second of all..I will admit that I would HATE it if I or someone I care about was stuck walking in 100 degree heat (it would be worse in 0 degree weather in the middle of winter in my opinion) and weren't able to get their cars or be able to go home.

Now as to why I'm not feeling too sorry for them. In the area where we live..the electricity has gone out numerous times from snowstorms or simple stupidity. One time while we were without electricity, we had a tiny bit of heat from ONE kerosene heater and no stove or refridgerator working because of the lack of electricity. We had to put anything we wanted cold in the snow and ice out in the yard. Any food we wanted warmed up was put in a pot and put on top of the heater. The roads were so badly covered that unless you drove a snow truck you weren't going ANYWHERE. This made news on local channels only..not like it did much good considering the only people who would really give a damn were people they were talking about that had no power!! Did this even get a MENTION from CNN or any other national news?? NO!! Did New York City, Detroit or any of these other cities in the dark now give a damn?? Nope..so why should I?? Why should I care that they have to go a few hours in the dark when we went over a week in the middle of winter in a snow storm?? Don't get me wrong..I don't want anyone to get hurt or sick or worse.

This has been on the news all over the place for the last 5 hours. Dan Rather is even calling it "The Blackout of 2003". Excuse me?? That name implies that this is an event that happens every year like an election or an awards show. I think this whole thing is getting more attention then it should get. Yes it was scary..yes it sucks..yes I would hate it if it was happening here..BUT..NO it's not going to last forever..NO it's not the work of terrorists..so GET OVER IT!! Cover something else for crying out loud. Get a life CNN, FOXNEWS and every other channel that insists on covering every single second on this somewhat interesting story that lost the somewhat a couple hours ago. The first hour of this story was interesting, the next couple hours was okay..and I think other than an update every hour or so there should be nothing else reported.

I have to admit..I did find this thing a bit on the funny side. Think about it..the city that never sleeps is in the dark along with about 10 other cities, they were covering the roads like they were in a protest march and it looks like all they CAN do is sleep and wait. I honestly thought all the fuss was about a bunch of crosswalk signs that had went out. Actually, it looked like a scene from "Superman 3". You know, after 9/11, the anthrax and this, I think New Yorkers should seriously consider moving somewhere else!!


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005