newest entry

Never Try To Play Matchmaker

2002-03-27 - 4:09 p.m.

Last night I made an error in judgement. I thought that guy with the ex from hell and a girl I'm friends with whom I met on here would get along and maybe could get involved. I told them both a bit about the other and they both seemed interested and wanting to meet. So far so good right??

We were all on AOL IM last night and I thought it would be the best time to meet. So I thought I'd set up a 3 person chat and they could meet, get to know each other and maybe move the conversation into a private chat with just the two of them. The chat started off well. I introduced them to each other and they began talking. The only private chats though that went on were between me and them in separate private chats.

Well...things seemed to be going well until the guy decided to transfer his age from years to months in the mentality department. He started asking her tons of questions that he already asked me. Including asking her for a picture that I had already told him 20 times she didn't have. Then she told us about her webcam on yahoo so I loaded up the yahoo messenger and checked out her webcam. Well the guy, not having yahoo messenger at the time started pouting that he couldn't see her. We helped him get a yahoo account and download yahoo messenger. That didn't work too well either. He didn't understand it and refused to learn. He then got upset that while he was downloading yahoo messenger we kept talking without him.

I was getting slightly annoyed at him but I didn't let it bother me. I made an error in grammar during the chat and the guy for some reason insisted on correcting me on it. I could have done without that. I politely told him I didn't need an english lesson.

I was still talking to both of them privately as well and I felt like I was the host of "Blind Date" or "Love Connection". They were both not too pleased with the other. In my opinion if either of them wasn't going to like the other I assumed it would be her not liking him. Hell if I was her I wouldn't have liked him either.

The guy didn't like her either. He said she didn't give him her FULL attention and he said literally that it was disrespecting me and her that she didn't give him her full attention. Okay, that annoyed me. That to me sounded like he was saying "Don't you know I'm the next best thing to God, and you're supposed to give me your full attention and bow to me when I say??" He said he felt she was ignoring him and being really rude. He even said "She left a bad taste in my mouth." Okay, umm..get a grip?!?!? I guess I shouldn't point out that I was doing other things as well too. And what about him?? He was ignoring us while he was downloading yahoo messenger. You can still chat while downloading something usually.

Well at this point he had left the 3 person chat and I invited him back and told them both I didn't want to be in the middle of this and for them to work it out. I thought hopefully this disaster could at least end on a positive note. He said something to her then 30 seconds later he's messaging me saying "She's not responding." I told him to relax it had only been 30 seconds. He laughed and said "Are you counting??" I said "Why not?? You are."

They talked and agreed to be friends. I told them both privately though that I think they would be better off not talking anymore since they obviously didn't like each other much and wasn't going to start. They both agreed so there went the "Let's be friends" pact.

So what did I learn from this fiasco?? If people are meant to meet and fall in love, let them do it by themselves!!!! My husband and I met without someone else arranging it, so see it CAN be done!!


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005