newest entry

Painful Burns

2002-04-19 - 4:57 p.m.

Pardon me while I cuss a bit..DAMN IT!!!!!!!!!! DAMN!! SON OF A..never mind.

A few minutes ago I burned my hand. My husband was fixing a box pizza in one of those ovens that are like a microwave and a stove combined. Well you have to lift up the lid to it like a grill. Well the lid is made of glass and I thought I'd be nice and take out the pizza for him. Well the top of my hand where my knuckles on my hand are landed on top of the hot glass. The burn is about the size of a silver dollar and it's stinging like hell. Damn it!! It's pinkish red with what looks like a pale pink or white streak running thru it.

My husband got me some ice in a washcloth and that's helping..well as long as the washcloth is on my hand it doesn't hurt as much. The second the washcloth gets taken off...oww..oww..oww. I can't leave the washcloth on my hand because I'm right handed, the burn is on my right hand and the washcloth won't stay on unless my left hand needs to hold the washcloth on my right hand.

What is it with my hands and arms when to getting burned around the house?? When I was about 2 or so I was home alone with my grandmother (father's mother) and for some reason I decided to put my hand on top of one of the eyes on the stove while it was on. I later got blisters the size of quarters all over my hand. My mother insists that the only reason I remember this is because she has told me about it over the years. Yeah right..that's why I remember the reason I put my hand on there and actually remember putting it there. Well the reason I'm not sure, I just remember seeing the eye on the stove and placing my hand flat on top of the eye. No real reason..no real brains obviously either.

Another time I burned myself I was doing a dance in front of the same grandmother at the house my parents live in now. It was cold outside and my parents had a kerosene heater and I was dancing around that, acting really silly. I'm not sure how old I was, older than 5 but younger than 7. Well I was finishing the dance by doing a finale and you know how someone will put their hand on their cheek or under their chin while the elbow is on a table or something?? Well picture that but my elbow going on top of the heater while it was on.

I'm sure I had a brain as a child, just not sure how often it was turned on. I think I had one of those brains that every now and then a for rent sign was put out for it just to see what kind of offers it would get.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005