newest entry

Cashiers: The People We Can't Avoid

Monday, Jan. 20, 2003 - 11:42 p.m.

Cashiers can't be avoided. Well yeah they can..we just have to order everything online and never step inside inside of a store again. Luckily ONE store we go to has an automatic cashier. It lets people scan their own items while someone watches from a distance. It beats having to deal with the numerous cashiers and their personalities out there. What is with cashiers though?? Most of them are either not friendly or try to get into your business a little TOO much. It's like they want to look at each item you get, wondering which one would be the best one to ask about. Sometimes I don't mind..other times it just bugs the hell out of me. For example, the last time we bought a pregnancy test, the cashier started asking if we were hoping for a positive or a negative and then said good luck. Okay that's not TOO bad. The next time we went in there she decided to play 20 questions and ask about the results. She just came right up to me in the store asking what the results were..if we were happy about it and trying to say it was best that I wasn't pregnant just yet anyways. Yeah easy for her to say..she has 4 kids which I found out later in the conversation.

Another time was just a couple days ago. Dec21 and I picked up another month's worth of paxil and the cashier was reading the bag that the pill bottle was in. Dec21 thinks he was trying to find the bar code numbers. I personally think he was trying to see what kind of medicine I was on. I looked at the cashier and said "Yep that's right..it's paxil..I'm mental." He then quickly had it scanned and laughed a little. I actually enjoyed doing that.

Other cashiers I've seen act like they just can't wait until you get out of THEIR store. They act like you're something they rub off on the bottom of their shoes. Now I've been a cashier before. I tried to be nice even though I did have bad days and there were days I didn't want to come to work. But hey..get over it. Customers pay their paychecks. However I doubt they think about that. Oh well.

I like to have fun with cashiers sometimes. Like when Dec21 and I go to Wal-Mart. We have both worked there and the place is not knowing how to treat their employees. Dec21 and I will see people who are "in training" and we like to warn them of what they have to look forward to. Sometimes in other stores I'll make little comments to get the cashier to laugh or at least smile. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Dec21 does the same thing. He'll say something like "I'm sure we're annoying the cashier." In response I'll say "Nahh, just you..but she's probably used to it." Little comments like that. It's all in fun..we never say anything mean. However sometimes the comments gets me looks that probably translate into "Who the hell are you?? What are you??" Then I'm like "Okay..nice knowing you."

Well I guess there are a couple of cashiers that are worse than a nosey one and a rude one..one that overcharges or doesn't know what the hell they are doing. So let's see..nosey posey, rude dude, overcharging barging one or a confused ninny..which one is best to get?? None of the above..go to the automatic cashier!!


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005