newest entry

Celebrities On The 9-11 Telethon

2002-03-27 - 10:07 p.m.

Why do we worship celebrities??

Is it because they make a lot of money?? They wouldn't make that much money if people didn't spend high amounts of money on tickets to see their movies that are only occasionally worth the price ofa admission. Is it because they are beautiful and handsome?? Again if we didn't pay the high prices for movie tickets, for them to get paid millions of dollars they wouldn't have the money for all that make up and cosmetic surgery to look that good. Is it because of the movies they make?? Perhaps but we'd probably enjoy the movies just the same if other people were playing in them. We might actually like them more if we or people we knew were in them. Is it because celebrities help charities?? No because well..they don't!! Not in the way they should.

Everyone remembers the telethon that the celebrities put together to help familes who were personally effected by September 11. Everyone thought so highly of these celebrities who put this together, worked the telephone lines and made their little speeches asking for money. Then once millions of dollars were donated, a majority of the celebrities involved went on with their lives, grinning that they had improved their image without it costing them anything more than a few minutes of their time.

Bill O'Reilly criticized the celebrities involved in that telethon for not caring how the money was given to the famiies, or shall I say how it wasn't being given to the families yet. Well, I realize now just why they didn't give a damn. It wasn't their money at risk. Why should they care?? Hardly any of the celebrities who were involved in that telethon if any of them gave a single dime. They sit on millions then have the nerve to beg people for money. Most of the people they were begging for money are people who never stand a chance of seeing a million dollars much else owning a million.

If these celebrities were really after helping people and wanting the donations to be high why didn't the contribute a bit?? Every celebrity on that telethon could have spared a million and not missed it yet they are asking people to give money when a lot of them live on a check to check basis. How is that right??

Rosie O'Donnell was on Bill O'Reilly the other night. Now since Rosie decided to become holier than thou on her tv show I have ignored her. But I did catch a bit of that show she did with O'Reilly and I have to admit that she made a lot of good points. She believed and even suggested that there should have been a cover charge for any celebrity who wanted to go on that telethon with their "I care" attitude. Like for example each celebrity give one million dollars to the fund. That would have been a great idea. How many celebrities would have done that?? That certaintly would have shown they cared. They made people feel they had to give money, even if they didn't really have much to spare. Why?? To prove they were a good American with a heart. Where are their hearts?? Where are their wallets that they want everyone else to open up and give??

Here is a portion of the transcript with Bill O'Reilly and Rosie O'Donnell:

________________________________

O'DONNELL: But do I think that celebrities shoot their mouths off too much? Yes. And I can say one thing about what you did with � after the September 11th thing? When I was called and asked to do that telethon, I said to the director and the people who were putting that telethon together, if you have a $1 million cover charge, I will show up. If you don't, shame on you. The fact that they were able to raise that money and where it went is irrelevant to me, because the Red Cross is a national organization that does very good work, but the fact that every single person who appeared on it who had the ability to give that kind of money yet did not and was not expected to by America stunned me. It stunned me, Bill.

O'REILLY: So you felt the way I did.

O'DONNELL: The day after the September 11th, I called six celebrities myself on September 12, crying in the morning. I said I want to throw light into the dark, give me $1 million. All different kinds of celebrities, and we'll make a $20 million donation and start a fund today. It was 9:00 in the morning, September 12. All of them said no. So what did I do? I called my manager and said just give $1 million to the Red Cross today, and challenge every other person with the means to do the same. I'm not on a high horse. I'm saying you and America, you should expect your millionaires to give millions. Especially if they're going to stand on TV and ask the peasants for pennies.

O'REILLY: All right.

__________________________________

Now I'm a fan of a number of celebrities as much as the next person. Some celebrities actually did give some money and for that they should be commended. But I find the ones who didn't but went on that telethon to beg for money from people who weren't as rich as them, to be disgraceful and hypocritical. Their image was the only thing they were really interested in helping. Well I hope they got the image they so desperately wanted.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005