newest entry

Cold & Flu

2002-02-20 - 8:18 p.m.

Now what are the odds that I could fake a cold to my mother a couple days ago just to have my husband get one now?? And what's the really funny part?? My mother blames me for his cold. She said "That's what you get when you kiss on each other when one of you gets a cold." All I can do is deny it's my fault, without telling why it's not.

Every time either me or my husband gets a cold she insists that it's a good idea if me and my husband don't kiss or get too close to each other until the cold is gone. Well...we hear the warnings she gives but we still kiss and if the cold gets passed, oh well. It's not like we haven't had colds before. I told my mother if neither of us mind if we give each other colds by kissing then it shouldn't matter to her.

My yearly flu that comes almost every winter hasn't come yet. It usually comes between mid January to mid February. Last time I got the flu I wound up with it and bronchitis at the same time and once I got better I got pregnant. I'm hoping I don't get the flu this year. I suck at being sick. I feel like hell and I get temporary amnesia about what it feels like to not feel sick. The worst flu I ever had was during a bad snow storm a few years ago. The electricity was out, no school, no clear roads. So there I was stuck in a house with no tv, no lights, and the roads weren't even clear so I could get some medicine to feel better.

I really should get a flu shot next winter. I considered getting one at the start of this winter but the only place we could find that gives flu shots said they were only giving them out to "extreme cases" only. In other words, if you get the flu as often as you change underwear. Well they weren't too sympathetic to those "extreme cases". They were charging I think 12 dollars per shot. Not only do you have to be an extreme case, go thru the pain of a shot, take the chance of getting the flu, but you have to pay to get that treatment.

I wonder if there will ever be a cold shot. Of course this place would probably say you need to get pneumonia twice a year even to get the shot.

By the way..whoever came up with that name flu?? It's such a weird word. Do you think it's a concidense that the word "flu" rhymes with words like: poo, doo, boo, and goo??


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005