newest entry

Comedy Of Errors

2002-03-06 - 7:57 p.m.

Who would think a simple trip to get lunch would cause so many things to happen that you didn't plan??

Be Warned: This Is Bit Long. If You Want A Quick Summary Scroll Down To The Bottom

It took us a few minutes to decide what we wanted for lunch. We agreed on McDonald's. First though I wanted to go to the grocery store and turn in some pennies we had. So I got them together and we walked out. I went over to the trunk where I put a portable CD player. I got my husband to open the push a button in the car that opened the trunk. I was holding my camera bag and a CD I wanted to listen to. I let go of the trunk door to push my hair back and the trunk closed. So I had to get my husband to open it again. I got the player out while wondering if that trunk was going to close again and planning what to do if it did. After of course I got over the fact that a trunk had tried to close on me.

I got in the car without the trunk closing prematurly. About a block up the road I opened the CD case to see the CD wasn't in there. So I half kidding, half serious asked my husband to go back home so I could get another CD. He turned around and handed me the keys. Before going in he said "Don't lock the keys in there." (I have a history of doing that, of course so does he) I sarcasticly responded "Oh but I want to." I went inside, put the keys down and got 4 CD's and walked back out. Surprise, surprise!! I left the keys inside. I checked the door to see if I MAYBE I had left them in the door even though I already knew I hadn't.

I went and told my husband what had happened and he said "Well you're crawling in." I was like "No problem." I didn't really mind, I had done it before and it was kind of fun sometimes. Well I talked my husband into helping me crawl thru the window. I told my husband as he was working on the window that if any burglars was wanting to break in all they'd have to do is watch. Well I usually crawl in legs first but I didn't want to get my shoes on the pillows and the bed so I went in head first. That wasn't such a good idea. My legs scrapped against the hard parts of the window as I slid down the window into the bedroom. I said a particular four letter word that I won't repeat at this moment. My legs will probably have a couple dozen nice looking bruises tomorrow.

My husband knocked on the door and I went and let him in. He wanted to look at my legs after I told him what had happened. I think he had to have heard me yelling, in fact the neighborhood probably did. Well he said they were red and agreed that there would probably be bruises tomorrow. As we were getting ready to leave again he turned, with a smile, keys in hand and said "Do you have the keys??" I couldn't help but look at him and laugh knowing he had the keys.

On the way to the grocery store the portable CD player wasn't working and once we got to the store my husband suggested it was the batteries. He then went inside to exchange the pennies and it turns out he was right. I always carry spare batteries in the bag that we keep the digital camera and it's accessories in. A bag I always carry with me.

He came back out and we went to McDonald's and got food. It was a little hard holding my drink, keeping the bag from falling, keeping the camera bag in place on the floor, and holding the portable CD player but I managed. I also had wanted to get a sundae at another place and my husband forgot so he turned around and we started heading that way. The CD player only fell one time. I was lucky.

My husband is a regular smoker. I will ONLY smoke when I'm stressed, or a bit upset. Sometimes I won't but every now and then if I feel one of those I will smoke a cigarette. I only smoke ONE cigarette at a time, and if I think there's even a small chance I'm pregnant I won't do it. I only smoke a couple cigarettes a year. I hate the taste of them though and I haven't gotten addicted. I don't think I could because of how gross they taste. I probably shouldn't smoke them at all, especially considering I'm trying to get my husband to quit.

I got the cigarette lit and I lowered it and it got on my pants and I freaked out. The cherry of the cigarette fell and I didn't know where. My pants was a little warm. My husband said to wait until he got somewhere to pull over and we'd find it. Yeah sure no problem, I didn't mind sitting there while a missing cherry could be catching me on fire as we spoke. My husband said I'd know if the cherry was still on me. I wasn't so sure considering I was wearing baggy pants at the time. Meanwhile I took a bit of my drink (luckily it wasn't alcohol) and poured it on my pants and stopped it from burning too much. We pulled over at a grocery store and apparently the drink I had poured a little on me fell also on to the cherry on the floor and put the cherry out. I wasn't in the mood for the cigarette anymore so I threw it out the window on the way to pulling over. My pants didn't burn but came close. I only had one drag off that damn thing and that was only to get the thing lit. That's a message to send to America's Youth. "Don't Smoke Or You Will Be Hot Pants."

What really sucks is that I had been holding the cigarette down in case we ran into my father who we had been told was nearby. My parents don't know I have a cigarette every blue moon and if they found out I don't think I'd want to be in the same state when that event occured.

This was all looking like a TV show. Once we got home, I was beginning having thoughts of the "What next??" category. I couldn't find the CD's I had brought when we got home. We searched the car and I was getting curious and worried as to where they were. I was about to go to the grocery store we pulled over at and look there. Finally my husband came out and said "Were they:" and then listed them. I asked him where they were and he said he found them in the camera bag. Then I remembered I put them there to get them out of the way and so the sun wouldn't hurt them.

Yes I know I'm a ditz. Believe it or not our order at McDonald's wasn't messed up. That's a first. It seems the more money you give that place the better the food is and the fewer mistakes they make. I remember when double cheeseburgers there was 99 cents each and they were a mess over half the time. Got a lot of free ones though when we called and complained about them. Yeah I know just the thing to do, complain about messy hamburgers so you can get free messy hamburgers. Doesn't make sense huh??

So what was the lesson for this experience?? Don't leave home without your brain.

QUICK SUMMARY: Forgot keys, hurt legs while crawling thru window, lost CD's, found CD's, almost turned my pants into smores while trying to smoke a cigarette I shouldn't have been smoking while getting an overpriced meal at McDonald's that my thighs probably could have done without.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005