newest entry

Cops & Ankles

Monday, Jul. 01, 2002 - 10:18 p.m.

One of these days I'm sure I'll grow a brain. I'm sure I'm getting close to running out of time on the statue of limitations on not having a brain.

Saturday night I wasn't in the best of moods. As I'm sure that was rather obvious based on my last entry. Well I got into a disagreement with my husband and my mother just insisted on putting her two cents in. Speaking of which, just how many two cents does she have?? She seems to constantly be throwing them in. I got mad and started walking away from my parents' house and headnig home Big mistake. Not only because it was about 10-11pm at night but because it set off a chain of events that make me question just how brain cells I currently own if any.

My husband followed in me in our car going about 5 MPH. Keep in mind on that road the average speed for someone to go is about 50 MPH when the speed limit is only about 35 MPH. What can I say?? People can be idiots. Anyways he pulled over somewhere and said if I was walking he was walking. Well I eventually agreed to walk back with him and we were making up. As soon as we started turning around a cop pulled over across the street. Perfect..just what I was in the mood for.

The cop asked what was going on. I actually considered lying to the cop. Telling a cop we're walking in the middle of the night because we were fighting isn't exactly something that would please a cop. My husband told him what was going on and I joined in to tell it as well. I actually wondered if the cop was going to give us a ticket or arrest us. My mood would for sure have been made worse if he had of. He didn't do either. He took our social security numbers down and gave us a lecture on fighting. He also asked if we were okay. Right away my husband said yes. I didn't answer because I assumed the cop was talking to him. But we were both wrong. Then the cop said "I know you're okay, I was asking her."

We were across the street from where we were when the cop pulled over. We started walking and I should have known walking in the dark night in high heeled boots on uneven ground was a BAD idea. Not even a full minute had passed after we said good bye to the cop when my ankle twisted and I fell. Turns out I was walking over a barely visible ditch and that caused me to fall. Well I was very tempted to start cussing enough to make a sailor blush but with the cop still nearby I quickly realized that was not a good idea.

My husband told the cop what had happened. He got out and he asked if I could walk. Yeah sure, I could walk, that's why I was on the ground moaning in pain instead of standing up and walking back to the car. I just thought the view down here on the ground was better. The cop asked if I wanted him to call an ambulance. Yeah sure officer, call an ambulance, have them carry me off to a hospital so some 9 year old medical student can do x-rays and charge about a thousand dollars all for a sprained ankle. Although I'll admit the thought of going to the hospital did cross my mind on the way home considering how much my ankle was hurting.

My husband went to get the car and the cop stayed with me. He got his walkie talkie looking thing and reported what happened. My husband brought the car and the cop helped me up and helped me walk to the car. He was actually very nice. I'm usually observant on details but I didn't catch his name and I was curious for awhile what his name was.

After we got home my mother showed up. She lectured as I knew she would, looked at my ankle, then decided to go on a cleaning spree. Just what I needed. I hate when she goes on cleaning sprees at our house. It annoys me the way she cleans and goes on that we don't clean enough. But that doesn't stop her.

After she left we went out for a little while. We got a thank you card for the cop for being so nice. We took it to the station and luckily there was another cop there who knew who the guy was. I would have preferred seeing the cop's reaction to us giving him the card. The night didn't end there though. We were driving around for awhile. I reached forward to get something and stupid me hits the gear shift and knocks it into neutral while we were pulling out onto a busy road. Real smart huh?? My husband pulled over and he fixed it without any problem.

So am I a jinx or just an idiot?? Any thoughts??

As of now my ankle still hurts, not as much and it's swollen. It's also nicely sprained. I can't walk perfectly well yet. I seem to twist my ankle once a year quite nicely. Hopefully this sprain counts as the once a year.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005