newest entry

My Father Has Now Officially Made It!!

Monday, Aug. 18, 2003 - 11:53 p.m.

My father is officially on cloud 9 tonight. He found out earlier today that he's finally going to be refereeing some college basketball games across the country this season. So after over 20 years doing high school games, going to tons of basketball camps and being on the college basketball games referee roster he's going to be actually traveling and doing games. He called my mother at work THREE times today trying to get ahold of her to tell her. For the record he didn't call us but we found out tonight in person. Oh well, I shouldn't be too surprised.

Anyways, I have to admit I am quite happy and proud of my father. He's worked SO hard for this and it means so much to him. However I have to admit to being a little sad that I have never at any point in my life meant half as much to him as this does. But hey he's happy and I'm happy for him. and it's looking like he's going to be one of the oldest if not THE oldest referee out there doing college basketball games. When I heard this tonight I grinned and said "Hey they might get him an interview on ABC." hehehe You never know. I may sound like a bad daughter when I say this..but part of the reason I'm happy is because I know with him traveling so much he won't be harassing us and barking orders like he owns us.

I guess I'm kinda split 50/50 on this whole thing. I am happy for him and in a way I'm glad he won't be bugging the hell out of us while ordering us to do this and do that. However..I can't help but be a bit sad that he won't be home much anymore during basketball season. I mean my father isn't all bad..he has good points. I have different opinions for both sides and the bottom line is I wish I meant at least half as much to him as this does. This is his world..his life. He'd go to the other side of the world just to spend 90 minutes refereeing a basketball game. I have serious doubts he'd drive more than 2 minutes to come see me. He never JUST visits. He always wants something, he's tagging along with my mother or they're picking us up for something.

Eh screw it. I need to get over this and realize the fathers I see on tv is nothing like the father I have and he'll never change. I actually get jealous sometimes when I see these caring fathers on tv always there for their kids, wanting to talk to them and really wanting a relationship with them. Whenever I tried to talk to my father growing up he'd say "Talk to your mother, not me." I know I've accepted the fact that this is how it's going to be for the rest of my life and his..but it still hurts when he gets excited over a damn basketball game while at the same time barely acknowledging I exist most of the time.

Tonight I told him I was proud of him several times. Did he ever say "thank you"?? Yeah once when my mother told him to say thank you. She then said "Now I know where she gets something." My father said "What?? Bad manners??" EXCUSE ME?!?!?! I say I'm proud of him and I knew he could do it and that I never lost faith in him and he calls that bad manners??!! WHAT THE HELL?!?!?! My mother said "NO!! Unable to accept a compliment and say thank you."

Some of my father's alleged friends are going to be eating some humble pie. A couple of my fathers "friends" kept telling him he was too old and wasting his time trying for this. I would love to see their faces when they find out that he has made it, he's getting a lot of games and will probably be on tv. Personally I think they were just jealous and I would love to tell them to go screw themselves. I told my father he should have those people who said he was too old and wouldn't make it to come to his first game, get front row seats, then at half time have several of the players line up with their backs to those "friends" and bend over, pull their shorts down and moon them with each of them having a letter written on their bare ass.

The letters would be as following:

F U C K Y O U

I think it would be quite appropiate and my mother happens to like the idea. Will my father do it?? Not a chance in hell. Would I?? If I thought I could pull it off..you're damn straight I would!!


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005