newest entry

Doctors' Appointments

2002-04-13 - 8:20 p.m.

Okay, so I didn't write several entries yesterday. I tried several times but I kept getting busy with other things. Not to mention the ideas I had to write about when I wrote the last entry I changed my mind about. Anyways, here's an entry and knowing me it'll probably be long.

My parents are being extra nice lately. They asked us to lunch again yesterday which we paid some on, and then this morning we met them for breakfast. Are they setting us up for something?? Does one of them have a disease that they don't want to tell us about yet??

I was supposed to go to the doctor on Monday. The appointment was made weeks ago. I've never seen this doctor before. She just got her own practice and she's trying to get approved by all these insurance companies. Her office called yesterday saying our insurance company hasn't approved her yet (is that a bad sign??) and that we could either pay in full on Monday or be put on a list and they'll call to reschedule when the insurance company does approve her. Let's see..pay about 140 dollars to go thru a physical I don't really want to go thru, or wait a few more weeks and just pay 20 dollars for a physical I don't really want to go thru. Tough call. Yeah right..of course the decision was to wait.

As for why I don't want to go thru it..several reasons. One reason is that I'm not a big fan of going to the doctor. In fact I tend to delay appointments if necessary if nothing is wrong with me. Sometimes when there is something wrong with me I'll still try to delay it a bit.

It's a physical that you are supposed to get every year, however I haven't gotten one since I was in 2nd grade. From what I remember of it, it wasn't fun. The doctor had me walking around the room in my underwear. If that wasn't embarressing enough he took a quick 2 second sneak peek inside my underwear while I was wearing them of course. Now granted I doubt this doctor will do that last part but you can bet I'll have to get undressed and be poked and proded enough to make a nun blush.

I remember everytime I've been to the OBGYN I had to wear one of those gowns that feels like a towel that was going to fall off at any moment. To add insult to injury the back was of course not fully together. What's the purpose of that?? I'd rather have the front not fully close then have my ass exposed for everyone who I can't see but who can see my ass.

Another reason is that I hate getting weighed at a doctor's office. You can bet that I'll be weighed there and doctors' scales always seem to add 10 pounds. It's worse than when cameras add weight to you. Speaking of which I never did understand how people can say the camera never lies yet they say it adds something like 10-15 pounds to you.

Am I the only one who finds it a little embarressing to have to be examined?? Usually when I go to the OBGYN, I make sure my husband's hand is well within reach and that the ceiling isn't too ugly to stare at and try to pretend that seconds really do fly by during the exam but they don't. I also try to pretend that the doctor isn't doing what unfortunately she is doing. Granted I won't have to go thru all the things that a OBGYN does, but I'll have to go thru a hell of a lot.

I'll probably have to give a blood sample which isn't a big deal. I used to be terrified of it but I'm not now. As long as they get the blood from my arm and not my hand like one idiot nurse tried to do. A urine sample I could do without. Giving a urine sample is so much easier on guys. All they have to do is hold the cup and aim right. If they have more urine in them than what will fill in the cup, big deal, they just have to switch the aim from the cup to the toilet, done deal. No such luck for girls. Not to mention for girls the cup has to be exact or you get an unholy mess that you have to put up with until you get home and can change. Not to mention if guys made a mess close to that, their underwear is usually so thick they'd have to piss a waterfall before it would be needing a change. Also have you noticed how the cup gets so warm it's actually gross?? It feels like an electric blanket. And am I the only one who worries about etting the cup a little wet then having to give it to the doctor. Granted they don't care about that but so what?? It's not their urine in there and it's not them who has to hand it over. When I go to the OBGYN I'm given a cup, told to write my name on it and put it in a slot then knock on the door. So basically I'm being told to urinate, address it then mail it.

One time the OBGYN asked for a urine sample, it was not long after I lost the baby and I said "Well...I used the bathroom earlier." Granted a lie..but I'd rather have them draw blood every day for a week then give ONE urine sample.

Another reason is of course an obvious, the LONG wait. It takes like an hour just to get in an exam room, another 20 minutes waiting for the doctor to come in and all they give you to pass the time is children's books and 2 year old magazines.

So why am I going if I don't want to?? Several reasons. I'm good at having several reasons aren't I?? Anyways, to satisfy my own paranoia and find out that my health is fine. Another reason is to at least have a regular doctor to go to. I was going to my doctor I saw as a kid until I was almost 19. Not the smartest idea but do you realize how hard it is to find a doctor you actually like?? Also we have this insurance, why not use it??

So am I disappointed that the appointment is going to be rescheduled?? Nope. Although I know that having to reschedule is just going to postpone all this but who knows..maybe by then I can quickly become a doctor and give myself a clean bill of health..well..it was a thought.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005