newest entry

A Headache, Bitchy Mom, & A DVD Player

2002-04-06 - 8:39 p.m.

Don't you hate it when if someone gets in a bad mood they insist on taking it out on you?? That's what I'm believing happened with my mother and me tonight. It's easier to believe that then to believe my mother is just a bitch, plain and simple.

I don't understand my mother sometimes. She goes from good moods to bad moods quicker than an actor. For example the other night my husband and I went over there. My mother hadn't gotten off work yet and my father just came in. He asked us to order a pizza for him and if he wanted to get half the pizza with pepperoni the way we like it, and the other half with just sausage the way he likes it. We ordered it that way and everything was fine. Then my mother comes in. Now she's not usually too picky about how the toppings a pizza has on it. She can eat a slice with lots of toppings or just one. Well she thought since the deal on the pizza was unlimited toppings we should all take advantage of that. We were satisified with the deal though.

My mother says we should get canadian bacon and some other stuff put on it. Now I can stand a pizza with a little sausage, but canadian bacon I can seriously do without. Well she calls and tells them to put canadian bacon and sausage on the WHOLE thing. That annoyed me. Then she hung up and I told her I didn't want canadian bacon on our half and my husband isn't really a fan of it either and he also didn't really want sausage on it. Well she gets a bit annoyed but says "Oh you can stand it." Now that really bothers me. The three of us decided how we wanted this pizza and we ordered it. She only eats once slice usually when pizza is ordered and she usually picks the smallest piece. So how is it she can just decide how the pizza is going to be for everyone when she rarely eats more than a small slice?? Well she gets pissed off and finally orders it and says a few things to the person about changing it. It eventually came out reasonably okay but it still annoyed me that she did that. She gets in a bad mood over it and says something like I'm difficult or picky. Yeah whatever mom.

Tonight was loads of fun. My parents got a DVD player. Their first. And guess who had to hook it up?? Not my mother, she knows how to turn on a tv and how to work the remote and that's where her knowledge on the subject ends. My father is one of those people who thinks they know what they are doing and if they don't they make it up as they go along. My husband was hooking it up and I guess my father thought my husband had the strength of Superman because he walked off expecting my husband to move the tv and the stand it was on all by himself back and forth hooking it up. My father did come to help but only after my husband said he needed help moving it.

My mother even rented a DVD at Blockbuster. It didn't cost anything to rent it because she became a new member. Usually when she's wanted movies there we put it on our card. She got this movie that sounds like an appetizer at a resturant. "Tortila Soup". When I first saw the title I thought it said "Tortoise Soup".

Anyways..the DVD player got hooked up and usually with a DVD player the tv needs to be turned to channel 0. Our tv does that but only with the remote control. My parents' tv on the other hand won't. My husband thought maybe the original remote would do it but no one could find it. My parents use this universal remote that controls everything connected to the tv including the tv.

I tried calling a service number that was in the manual to the DVD player and I just got a recording that says for this push 1, for that push 2 and so forth..well I thought eventually I would get an actual person. Instead I had to push more buttons and finally they gave descriptions of what to do for something which wasn't what I needed help with. I hung up and gave up on that.

They still couldn't get the tv on 0. I was trying to help find the original remote to the tv. My mother was getting in a bad mood saying she was going to take the DVD player back. She then started on her "Nothing ever works for me." speech. She also said she was going to take the DVD player back. Her mood was then worsened when she dropped some dough she had to make biscuits. She said "Well I'll just wash it off and still use it." Hearing that made me glad I wasn't eating any of the biscuits.

About this time I was getting a bad pain in the side of my head. I sat down in the living room and since my husband and my father were still trying to mess with the tv, that loud and annoying sound was blasting. Which of course was not doing anything to help my headache. I told my mother my head hurt and she basically said to get over it. I was like "Umm that's nice." The pain kept going and she'd glance over at me and roll her eyes and shake her head. She said I was being a wimp. I was barely saying anything about it but rubbing it and saying it was hurting. The blasting static of the tv was still going on and I looked at my mother as she rolled her eyes at me for my head hurting and I said "That's mean you know!!" My father started getting angry saying "We're doing the best we can, if you don't like it just mute or ignore it." I wasn't even talking to him!!

Now I wasn't asking for tons of sympathy but I didn't expect my mother to be completely unsympathetic. Finally I went in the kitchen and I was saying I didn't appreciate how she was acting and that my head really was hurting. She said "Well you're going to a doctor in 10 days, tell her about it." I then said half serious, half not that I want to go now. Then in a condescending voice she said "Fine get ready and go then." I walked into the living room and my mother followed with my husband and my father were still working on the tv. She then said "Do you have a bra and clean underwear on??" My mother is terrified at the idea that she or someone she's related to will go to the hospital and won't have clean underwear on.

I didn't appreciate that comment she made. Not only was it stupid but there was no need to say a statement like that in front of everyone, espcially my father!! Jeez!! That was it. I told my husband I wanted to leave, that I didn't deserve that treatment from her or need it. My mother acted like I was being a drama queen and saying "I didn't do anything to you!!" Yeah sure I believe that. She insisted then she didn't do anything and that I was overreacting.

As I was walking out I heard her say "Well I'm never going to get a DVD player again, she just insured that!!" Excuse me?? How the hell is that my fault?? So I guess the lesson here is that I am not allowed to have a headache in front of her?? Yeah sure!! My mother constantly complains about aches and pains she gets and I don't once roll my eyes because of them or try to make her feel crazy for it. Hell when I was a kid I'd always get a cold washcloth for her head. I've done it a few times as an adult too. I told her flat out that I don't treat her this way when she's complaining about a pain or not feeling well. Of course that didn't matter. So should I just sum up the way she acted to her being a bitch tonight or that she was just in a bad mood over the DVD player??

Did I Have A Right To Get Upset??
��
Free polls from Pollhost.com

Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005