newest entry

My Husband & Me: The Best Team In THe World

Saturday, May. 11, 2002 - 1:52 p.m.

Don't you seriously love when you prove how good a team you and someone else are?? It's even better when the other person is someone you're in love with. My husband and I have proven repeatedly that we're a team that will stick together no matter what. My husband has said that he thinks of it as me and him together against the world. Sounds good to me. A few days ago my husband proved once again how good a team we are.

My mother wanted to drive half an hour to go to a resturant. She had a headache and was getting quite irritable. I called her and she invited us to go with her. Now I didn't really want to go. It was thundering a bit and looking like it was going to storm at any minute. The idea of driving in a thunderstorm for half an hour to get to a resturant when we could easily go somewhere else a lot closer didn't appeal to me much. I told my husband if he really wanted to go we could. He didn't express much interest in going out there either but we were both hungry and my mother did offer to pay for the meal.

We drove to my parents' house..still not really set on a decision about whether or not to go. I secretly hoped my husband would say he didn't want to go and we'd go out and get something else. We got to my parents' house and at the last second my husband said for us to get in my parents' car and go with them. My parents were sitting in the back seat, wanting one of us to drive.

My husband got on the driver's side and I got on the passenger side. I was still worried about driving in the potential storm. I told my husband that I wanted to go back to my parents' house but it was up to him if he wanted to go. So he was getting set to turn around. My mother, figuring out what was going on by listening in on what we were saying and my husband looking for a place to turn around. She got upset and started ORDERING my husband not to turn around. Then my father started telling my husband not to turn around. I was telling him to turn around while they kept saying "Don't you dare turn around." My mother was getting mad at me saying I was being mean and ridiculous. My mother said that the car could be pulled over and I could get out and walk. My husband asked me if I wanted to do that. I was like "That's fine." I don't think anyone thought I'd actually say it. I didn't think that was actually serious offer. But it was.

My husband pulled over, we had been riding in the car for over 5 minutes. I got out of the car as my parents got out of the back and my husband got out of the driver's side. My mother started telling me how selfish and mean I was. She also said I cared about no one but myself. My husband looked at me and put his hand out for me to put mine in his. He said he was going with me, that we'd both walk together back to my parents' house where our car was. We weren't sure how long the walk was going to be but we started anyways. My mother yelled to my husband that he could still go out to eat with them if he wanted, and my husband without turning his head said "No thanks."

My mother was NOT happy about this. She kept telling my husband and I to come back and get back in the car. But we didn't. They stayed parked there for about 5 minutes. We kept walking. We walked on uneven road, uneven ground with ditches and rocks. My parents eventually turned and started heading in the opposite direction. We assumed it was to go to the resturant my mother wanted to go to. We were wrong.

My parents for the next half hour (yes it took that long to get back) kept pulling in front of us, following us while going very slowly. My mother kept saying to get in the car. My husband and I both said no. We held each other hands very tightly, refusing to give up. My husband told her to go to the resturant she wanted to go to. She refused. My husband said "If we get in that car she can say it's our fault she didn't go to her resturant..now she can't." My mother kept saying she wasn't in the mood to go that resturant she wanted to go to anymore.

My mother then started saying she could give us a ride back to her house. Although part of me wondered if once we got in the car she'd just start driving to the resturant and not to her house. I mentioned this to my husband and he said he wondered the same thing. She kept saying how it wasn't safe to walk to her house. Although people walk on the same area all the time. She said it could rain. Ironic huh?? She was worried about it raining while we were walking but thought I was silly for worried about driving in the rain??

As I said it took over half an hour to get to my parents' house. Thirty-eight minutes to be exact. I pulled a muscle in my leg, and my other foot was hurting a bit, mostly from bending it a bit to walk on the uneven ground. My side hurt a bit which usually does if I exercise or walk too much. We were both sweating like we just came out of a sauna. We were determined not to give up and we didn't. We were a team, sticking together the entire time. Although I did feel a bit guilty that my husband didn't go to that resturant, even though he didn't really want to go. Despite that though, it really felt great that we were a team. That we stood by each other and refused to give in. I thanked my husband repeatedly for coming with me and standing by me. I told him as much as my muscles were hurting I wasn't going to give up..feeling that bit of pain was worth the great feeling it was showing how good a team my husband and I are.

The event didn't end with us walking into my parents' driveway. As soon as we walked into my parents' house the phone rang. It was my mother saying she was at another resturant that was in town and she wanted to know if we wanted to join them. We thought it was a bit funny that after all that she was doing this. It wasn't too much of a surprise though. Usually whenever we have a fight with my mother, or if just one of us has a fight with my mother, she goes and gets something for us or the person she had the fight with. She's been doing it since I was a kid. She would get mad, yell, say a bunch of things then go buy a peace offering I guess is what you'd call it. My husband says it's more of a bribe to try to get forgivness. Anyways we went to the resturant and she said she wasn't mad. She kept saying we could have gotten hit by a car or it could have started raining. We haven't talked much about it with my mother since. Call me crazy..but I thought it was fun. We stood up to my mother and we were a team. I'd say it was a good day.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005