newest entry

It's Official: In-Laws Suck!!

Sunday, Dec. 15, 2002 - 6:53 p.m.

I have come to that conclusion after going on 6 years of observation. Actually until now it was a hypothesis which has now turned into a fact. No matter what you do, how much ass you kiss, how long you're around, how many times you could say something and don't or how many smiles you force yourself to have, in-laws just don't give a damn and will stay the same.

With my in-laws I went from wondering what it would take to get them to like me, to wondering if they liked me at all, to wondering what I did to get them to be such pain in the asses, to wondering if they are waiting for me to crack, and finally coming to the conclusion that they just suck and nothing I do will ever please them. I could be the richest person alive with the body of a supermodel and they would stlll find a flaw to complain about.

The other day was my husband's parents' 40th wedding anniversary. Yay them!! Yeah whatever..they don't even live in the same time zone, have no plans to living in the same time zone, and admit to not really being a couple anymore. He still makes the money and she still spends it and that's it, and admit to being better friends than a couple. So it makes you wonder just what will they celebrate if anything?? That they haven't sent the other to a mental institution?? I think they've been a non-couple longer than they were actually a couple. But I digress.

My husband and I sent them an anniversary card online. My husband sent it and put both our names on it. Nice huh?? You would think so!! They got the card on the day of their anniversary which was Friday. Two days go by and we finally get a response. Well I take that back..my husband got a response. My father in law sent an online thank you card and put both his name and his unofficial ex wife's name on it. Not bad so far right?? He put JUST my husband's name on the "TO" part. Yeah forget me, I don't exist. I'm just your son's wife..just ignore me..pretend I'm not a part of YOUR family. I'm used to it remember?? I've endured 6 years of this shit from you all. Oh wait let me guess..you didn't see my name..or maybe it was written in invisible letter!!

Am I overreacting?? I probably shouldn't be since I'm used to this from that bunch. I mean they never send me birthday cards or even acknowledge my birthday exists. My mother in law says she has enough dates to remember. Sure lady whatever excuse you think will work right?? Although to be honest I expected more from my father in law. He usually puts my name on cards he sends to us. I guess my mother in law has got him convinced I'm the demon spawn she obviously believes I am.

So what do I do?? Give up?? No I can't do that because then they will say I don't care and that I'm not trying. I could pretend to crack and see if they throw a party to celebrate. But I won't give them that satisfaction. I could tell them off but my husband has tried that with no results. I could kiss their ass some more but so far that hasn't gotten me anywhere. What's really pathetic is I will probably keep doing what I have been doing. Be nice, try to figure out what they have against me and still try to get on their good side.

I just made up a saying that I think fits this situation perfectly:

With some people you can kiss their ass and get somewhere, with others, all you get is shit on!!


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005