newest entry

Laziness & Hypocrisy

Tuesday, Oct. 01, 2002 - 6:19 p.m.

You know I have a hard time figuring out my parents' logic on things. For example a couple weeks ago my mother was complaining that I eat out too much. My husband and I both do eat out a bit but not nearly as much as she lets on. Anyways so I decided when we go to her house, I'd eat there. My husband decided he'd eat out. So he got some food from a fast food resturant and we went over to my parents' house. Wouldn't you know it?? My mother yelled at me for not eating out, saying I was starving myself and then she gets upset with my husband FOR eating out and not eating HER cooking. You know I've accepted parents are going to contradict themselves, but is it normal to do it in the same minute?!?!?!?!?

Here's another good example. My mother always says that since we don't work AS HARD as her we have no right to ever claim we are tired. Boy I bet a lot of people would love to hear that from someone. Anyways..she also accuses us of being lazy. Well today, I think I just met the definition of lazy..AKA..my father.

My husband, my mother and me had talked about maybe doing something this evening. Well I told her last night we'd come over sometime between 4:30-5:00. My husband and I got off to a late start and needed to do laundry before going over there. So I called my father and asked him to tell her we'd be a little late. She isn't home which didn't surprise me too much. He refused to do so saying he had to leave in a few minutes. Now of course I was thinking he could just write a quick note saying "They're going to be a little late, bye." Instead he says he won't write a note and insists I call back, let it ring, and leave a message on voice mail. He said he would see it was us calling and know not to pick it up. Now is it just me or is that just the definition of lazy?!?!??!!?!?

Whenever we go over to their house and he's leaving he gives detailed instructions on writing a note for him telling who called, when they called, what they said, a phone number to call back and if they will call back or they want him to call..yet he can't leave a one sentence message for us?? It's not like he was going out the door that very second, and even if he was he could write a couple words down. I'm sorry I realize he is my father but come on..wouldn't it take less time to leave a note then it would to call back, listen to the phone ring 4 times, listen to the voice on the answering machine, hear a beep and then leave a message??

Now this may sound petty but I couldn't wait to tell my mother this and show her there are more people out there lazier than we supposedly are. Her response?? "Now I wouldn't be calling him lazy, he probably had to leave and it didn't hurt you to leave a message." WHAT THE HELL?!?!?!?! This from a woman who thinks if you take a nap during the day (even though she does it on a regular basis) is a sign of laziness and that you "don't have enough to occupy your mind". She then goes on saying my father didn't sleep last night and he was irritable. Well excuse us. I guess we forgot to turn on the surveillance cameras we allegedly have all over their house that have us knowing everything that's going on. Still I hardly call that an excuse. If I don't sleep my mother says I'm "not trying to" or "wanting to".

Parents are such hypocrits. I pray I don't turn into one when we have kids.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005