newest entry

Who Owns Medical Records??

Wednesday, Nov. 06, 2002 - 10:38 p.m.

You know..you would think that question could be answered with zero thought and a minimum amount of time. The answer is simple. YOU do!! WRONG!!

I'm starting to take offense. In the last 6 months, my regular doctor, my counselor and now my ob-gyn have all moved from their original locations. Not only that, but they are all in a town about 20-30 minutes away. Not very conveneint but we live with it. It doesn't bother me too much. Although I think I probably should start to wonder.

Anyways..my ob-gyn used to be a part of a rather large practice. She's the only ob-gyn I have ever been to. I found out she was moving to a new location which was further away but it wasn't a real problem. I found out she left her patients' medical records at her previous work place. Again, not a problem. I actually liked that she did. I figured my husband and I could go get them, I could get a look at them, see whatever notes she may have written down then take them to her.

This afternoon my husband and I went over to her former place of employment and asked for my records. Over the past few months I've had to go to just about every doctor I've seen in the area to get records to take to my main doctor who I just started seeing earlier this year. It was no problem. I was able to get them and walk out without so much as a hint of a problem. Today however, that streak was broken.

The damn receptionist said it wouldn't be a problem to get my records. I would just need to pay a fee. EXCUSE ME?!?!?! A fee?? She said it would be 10 dollars as a "processing fee" and 50 cents per paper that was in my file. EXCUSE ME?!?!?!?!?!? It's MY records..and even if they are techincally the doctor's as well..then shouldn't she have taken them with her?? Why should this place who I have never seen another doctor there money for MY records??!!?!? It's like they are holding them for ransom!! Someone please tell me this is illegal!!

I asked the receptionist why there was a charge. Her response was "it's company policy." Yeah whatever. One thing I found odd. They said they could fax them for free. Umm what?? Wouldn't faxing them cost more money then just handing them to me?? What a bunch of shit. Pardon my french but it is.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005