newest entry

The Monthly Visitor

Sunday, May. 05, 2002 - 12:52 a.m.

I have to wonder sometimes if the monthly visitor was invented just to screw with the minds of the female species. Think about it, women need to have the monthly visitor in order to have children. In order for men to have children all they need is sperm and an errection. Women on the other hand have to deal with cramps, bleeding for 5-7 days, being cranky and altering some plans they may have made. They have to deal with this once a month, every month from the time they are about 11 until they hit middle age.

I have heard all kinds of nicknames for it. "Menstural cycle" is the official name which sounds like a kind of bicycle. There's of course the word "period". I hate that word in regards to that. Just who invented that word to go with that?? I don't feel right saying that word. How many girls do you think has probably thought of that time of the month when their English teacher would be talking about grammar and puncuation. Also and maybe I'm in the minority here, but does it seem kind of odd to say "I'm on my period" or "I'm started my period." Just doesn't sound right to me. There's also the "monthly visitor" which is what I usually call it. Although it sounds like you get company once a month like an annoying relative. "Aunt Flo" makes me laugh. That's just..I'm laughing just thinking about it. And is it just me or is saying the word "Flo" in regards to that sound a little too revealing. "The curse" is a popular one. Although I never considered it to be a curse. "That time of the month" I think goes into the same category as monthly visitor.

I also don't like how if a girl is upset, a lot of guys will say "It must be that time of the month." How's this for a retort: "Well maybe, what's your excuse??" Luckily my husband doesn't do that. Growing up with a mother and a sister, then living with me has taught him to know better than to say that.

Sanitary napkins sounds like a napkin that's very clean. That's a terrible phrase for it. Have you noticed they seem to have more kinds of those things than kinds of cereal?? Don't they have a one size fits all?? And tampons..oh let's not get started on that. I've never used those things. It looks like a minature dildo and knowing how those things work just grosses me out.

When I was younger I didn't really know how to calcuate when that time of the month was going to come. I knew it was about the same time each month so I'd always come prepared each day to school. My mother used to buy the kinds with wings for awhile when I was a kid. Now I might as well tell what that means so people reading this won't think it means a device put in to help you fly like Peter Pan. The wings are sticky things on each side that will attach to the underwear. I never found these to be useful. Whenever I tried to use them when I took the wrapping off the wing (yes the wings have individual wrappers) the wing would fly back and land on top of the sticky part and make it hard to put on. It made it much harder to use. Not to mention can you imagine how much it hurts if that wing thing sticks to you?? And I don't mean on your leg. Needless to say I avoid those kinds as much as possible.

And isn't it just wonderful when the monthly visitor catches an early plane out and arrives early?? Or it comes at a time when you're not expecting it to. You're either unprepared or really unprepared. Translation: you either didn't expect it to come but you have the necessary items to take care of it, or you didn't expect it to come and you don't have the necessary items to take care of it. And yes I have been in both situations. The worst time to have this happen is in school. I was always too self conscious to actually come out and say what happened. What do you say exactly?? Do you say "Hey guess what?? Let's play 20 questions." or how about "Umm..I just got my period and well umm..you see.." There's no good way to say it. I only had to say it once. Which unfortunately I also had to say to a librarian who was already talking to my teacher and wouldn't walk away. Other times I played chicken and called my mother and asked her to pick me up from school which she did do. Come to think of it I called my mother that day I told my teacher as well.

I'm sure I'm not the only female to have these thoughts and experiences. I'm probably just the only female to actually sit down and write about them on here for all to read. I'm an open book in this journal..I'm telling all the details others may be afraid to write. This either makes me brave or stupid. Oh well, I'm in the mood to write some more..what should I write about next??


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005