newest entry

Never Sell A Car To A Dumb Ass

Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2003 - 9:47 p.m.

I have to wonder..what's easier?? Buying a car or selling one?? I used to think selling would one would be the easiest. Well no one ever said I was extremely smart.

A few months ago Dec21 and I got a second car and we both preferred it so much more than our other car that we parked the older car in my parents' yard and left it there. Well a guy whose parents live up the hill came to look at the car and expressed an interest in buying it. That was fine with me..saves the trouble of leaving it in my parents' yard and it saves money on having to get a "for sale" sign.

We weren't too sure how much to sell the car, since until this guy expressed an interest in buying the car we never really talked about selling it. We found out about an average price for the car and that was the price range we asked for. The guy, who I'll name "cbuyer" (car buyer) came again to look and kept trying to lower the asking price. We all eventually agreed on a fair price and he said he'd get the money within a day or two.

So far so good right?? Two days go by and he finally calls, saying he couldn't get all the money together. Translation: "I want to pay less and I'm going to try and give a lame excuse hoping you'll buy it and lower the price." He talked to my mother mostly during this since the car was in her yard and she knew more about this than either of us do. Cbuyer actually had the nerve to say during all this was "You're not going to sell it out from under me now are you??" Now if there was another buyer interested, I'd give them a discount to buy it just so he wouldn't get it. Now maybe I'm overreacting here but we were holding the car for him, lowering the price and putting up with his indecivness and he has the nerve to say that??

He eventually came and brought a check for the full amount. I didn't feel too guilty about it since cbuyer did have more than enough in his bank account (according to him) and his profession is fixing cars so he can get the car just like new and flawless in no time. Before he left he said he'd come pick up the car in the next couple days.

This passed Saturday, cbuyer picked up the car and took it to his parents' house. Why he did that I'm not totally sure. Saturday evening he calls and talks to my mother and asks if any of us have anymore keys to the car. She tells him no and he informs her that sometime between parking his car at his parents' house and calling my mother he lost the damn key to the car. What he's going to do I'm sure I do not know. The car is still sitting up there. Now I don't feel guilty about this..it's his fault..not ours. My mother feels guilty. He can get it set up so it'll take a different key and have that key made.

I must confess I'm confused as to how he lost it that quick. I also must confess as to how grateful I am that we never take our car to where he works for repairs!! Just imagine what he'd lose.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005