newest entry

New York Nuke Scare Kept Secret

2002-03-04 - 1:43 p.m.

Am I the only one who finds that headline scary?? I read the story that followed that headline just a few minutes ago and several things about it scare me. I'm not sure though which scares me more. The fact that there was such a scare or that our (warning: sarcasm) trusted leader neglected to tell us.

How are the people of this country expected to trust a government that doesn't tell us the truth about what is going on?? Granted, there would be a wide spread panic if we were told everything that the president knows but come on. We have a right to know. How would Bush feel if that nuclear threat became a reality and all those lives lost could have been saved by a little warning?? This reminds me of the movie "Independence Day". When the aliens arrived, the president told everyone not to worry and downplayed the whole thing. Then the aliens attacked and millions of people died. He soon regretted not evaculating the cities and telling the truth about what was going on. Does Bush want that to happen to him?? Does he wants the blood of thousands of lives on his hands??

I can admit I get a little worried when I hear words like "high state of alert", "bioterrosim" and "nuclear weapons". BUT, I wouldn't want to be kept in the dark if there was a threat to blow up the city where I lived. Don't people have a right to know if their lives are in danger?? The government is quick to make announcments declaring the country on "high state of alert." Nothing happens then. Didn't this nuclear threat deserve an announcment when it was even looking like a very good possibility?? I consider the decision to keep this kind of news a secret to be stupid, irresponsible and very disturbing.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005