newest entry

Office Max SUCKS

2001-12-17 - 9:04 p.m.

Well...Office Max sucks..and I dare anyone to disagree with that. We had a rather interesting experience today there A friend came up with the idea of just pasting the convesation with him (on AOL IM) where I told him instead of typing it all out again here. So here it is:

november009: hey, wanna hear a cool story??

november009: ok..

dataguy: yes, I am, and sure, why not.

november009: ok..

november009: now I told you about the digital camera right??

dataguy: yes.

november009: well my mother had gotten it for us as a Christmas present..

november009: well it doesn't allow you to use rechargable batteries

dataguy: conspiracy.

november009: well... november009: you can see how that would get expensive

dataguy: yes, I can.

november009: and it took 4 batteries

november009: at a time

november009: well..my mother decided she'd take it back and get a refund

november009: she had asked when she bought it

november009: if she could return it

november009: and they said yes

november009: well she called them this afternoon

dataguy: and she couldnt?

november009: asked specifically "Can I take it back for a refund??"

november009: they said YES

november009: so me and my husband came over..

november009: and the 3 of us went over there

november009: and the manager came over and said "Sorry we can't take this back"

november009: and she said "Well..okay..can I exchange it for another kind??"

november009: he said "No sorry..you can only exchange it for one exactly like it."

november009: what would you be thinking??

dataguy: bureacracy.

november009: well she wasn't happy with that

november009: she said "Why would I want another one just like it when I'm returning it because of something I don't like about it??"

dataguy: nor would I be.

november009: he kept saying "There's nothing I can do ma'am..sorry"

november009: she said "But I was told I could return it..twice.."

november009: he said "Well..I don't know who you talked to and that's not my problem"

november009: he CLAIMED he wouldn't be able to resell the camera..and would be stuck with it..yeah right

dataguy: probably not, seeing as how its a POS.

november009: there was NO sign saying they don't return things

november009: well he looked at the receipt

november009: and he said "See here..it says that digital cameras cannot be returned"

november009: my mom said "Well how is that fair..you find that out AFTER you have bought it and then it's too late"

dataguy: on the receipt, haha

november009: not to mention the receipt said that you had 14 days to do anything..she bought it NINE days ago

november009: well she bitched some more

november009: she had tears she was so upset

november009: and he said "Ma'am, if you do not lower your voice I'm going to have to ask you to leave"

november009: she yelled and screamed some more

november009: the entire store was looking at her

november009: she kept saying she was told she could return it

november009: and I looked at him and said he needed better employees who knew what they were talking about

dataguy: what was the store called?

november009: he kept saying "Ma'am, I can't help you..I don't know..all I do know is that if you don't calm down I'm going to call security and have you removed"

november009: Office Max

dataguy: oh, god, theyre awful.

november009: then she told him again why she wanted to return it..it doesn't allow you to use rechargable batteries...

november009: and she said "Here..just take the camera...I'm just going to leave it here"

dataguy: haha, cool

november009: he said "Ma'am I don't want the camera"

dataguy: did she leave it?

november009: and he said "Ma'am..instead of buying regular batteries..go and buy a battery charger and rechargable batteries"

november009: and she said "It tells you specifically NOT to"

november009: and he said "I realize that ma'am..but go buy some rechargable batteries and a charger and use them"

november009: and I spoke up and said "It will destroy the camera..she talked to the manufactor (which she had) and they said it will destroy the camera"

november009: and he said "I understand that but get rechargable batteries that are designed for digtial cameras"

november009: and she said "THEY WON"T WORK!!"

dataguy: hes a manager, not a techie.

dataguy: what a jackass.

november009: he also wasn't listening

november009: and he kept saying "Ma'am if you don't calm down I'm going to have you removed"

november009: my mother said "Well you do what you have to do and I'll do what I have to do"

november009: he didn't a damn thing but bitch some more

november009: and my mother took the camera, looked at people who were looking at digital cameras..

november009: and said "I won't be buying anything here..you people better not buy from here, you won't get your money's worth or any good service or help from these people"

november009: then he asked if she wanted to talk to a regional manager

november009: and she said "No I want to go straight to the top, give me the number of the corporate manager"

november009: so he did

november009: then while he was still standing there

november009: I asked if we were leaving

november009: and she said "No..I'm going to stand outside for awhile..and warn everyone out there telling them not to come in here"

november009: she looked at the manager and said "Can you at least give me a bag?? It is raining out there"

november009: so she went outside, got her cellphone out and called the corporate manager

november009: the woman said that she should have been given a refund..and that the only camera they don't take back is a sony which wasn't what we bought

november009: and my mother said "I want this taken care of TODAY"

november009: and the woman took my mother's cellphone number and said she was going to call that manager PERSONALLY

november009: and would call my mother back

november009: well we went into the car

dataguy: cool.

november009: my mother was shaking like a leaf

november009: finally she called

november009: and told my mother she spoke to the manager..and to go on inside and get her money back

november009: my mother went inside

november009: the manager walked over to her

november009: and said "I spoke to the corporate manager, and worked it out, you're getting your money back"

november009: my mother looked at him and said "I know." and walked away..got her money back and walked out

dataguy: haha, excellent!

november009: then we went to another place...

november009: got another digital camera that was a million times better

november009: with extra features

dataguy: its a mistake to buy anything from a store that doesnt specialize in that product.

november009: why don't you like office max??

dataguy: Its just poorly run.

dataguy: or maybe thats office depot.

dataguy: office depot is, thats for sure.

november009: get this

november009: the place we bought it...

november009: we had been there before and almost bought the camera we got now earlier

november009: and we talked to the same guy

november009: VERY nice

november009: well we started talking about what happened at office max

november009: and a guy came up and said "Where did this happen??" and we told him and he said "Oh my God..Are you talking about (gave that asshole's name)??"

november009: and we said "yes"

dataguy: hahahah

november009: and he said "Oh jeez..I used to work there..he's the reason I quit..he's such an asshole"

dataguy: thats classic

november009: yep :-)

dataguy: you should just post this as an entry.

november009: this story or this conversation?? hehe

dataguy: the conversation.

november009: that's a good idea

november009: let me save it and I'll do it

dataguy: cool.

dataguy: wait, let me plug.

dataguy: dataguy.diaryland.com: its the place to be.

november009: LOL

dataguy: hahaha

november009: ok

november009: you're nuts

Draw your own conclusions. :))


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005