newest entry

Oscar Nominations

2002-02-12 - 8:16 p.m.

The Oscar nominations have been announced. For the last 8 years I make it a necessity to be watching them live. Yes, I realize I was in school during several of those years, but when you're as big a movie buff as I am and get into the Oscars as much as I do, and have a mother who understands that you get to check into school late in order to watch them.

My opinion on the nominations this year is that some of them you could see coming a mile away and the others were a "huh??". I haven't seen too many of the movies nominated nor do I want to. It appears that the independant movies are what dominate the Oscars year after year. Anyways, here are my opinions on each of the nominations in the major categories:

BEST PICTURE

A Beautiful Mind

Gosford Park

In the Bedroom

Lord of the Rings

Moulin Rouge

Okay.."A Beautiful Mind" was no surprise.

"Gosford Park" from what I've heard isn't much of a surprise. Come on..it's a Robert Altman movie. That guy could make a movie about grass growing in Maine and still get nominated. No offense though, but I don't see the attraction to Robert Altman's movies. I have yet to see one of his movies and liked it. That probably means I should avoid "Gosford Park".

"In The Bedroom" surprised me a bit. I figured that movie would get nominatons in acting categories only.

"Lord Of The Rings" shouldn't have surprised me but it did. I know they say it's a good movie and all but I just figured it wasn't the type of movie the Academy would want to nominate. Although history says that at least one movie that was a huge hit in theatres will make it in the top 5 best picture list. They rarely win though.

"Moulin Rouge" shocked me the most. I was like "Huh??" Was the Academy drinking when they picked that one?? That spot should have been given to "Shrek".

BEST ACTOR

Russell Crowe (A Beautiful Mind)

Sean Penn (I Am Sam)

Will Smith (Ali)

Denzel Washington (Training Day)

Tom Wilkinson (In the Bedroom)

Well...Russell Crowe has again taken another nomination for the 3rd time in a row. I'm getting sick of this guy. The man is stuck up and in my opinion not that great of an actor. What is the attraction to him??

Sean Penn's nomination shouldn't have surprised anyone. I mean come on the guy is playing someone who is mentally handicapped. Just about every actor who plays someone like that gets nominated. Well..Juliette Lewis for "The Other Sister" didn't and that still shocks me.

Will Smith's nomination is sure to boost his apparent already high ego.

Denzel Washington's nomination is probably well deserved. I haven't seen the movie he's nominated for but from what I've seen of him before he always gives 200% in his roles. This guy could make a simple moment of opening the mail into an oscar worthy performance. I haven't seen all of his movies but every one I see I'm amazed at how good he is in it and how convincing he is. This guy could play a caucasion woman and be believable.

Tom Wilkinson was someone I had to look up. I had never heard of him which is surprising since I consider myself a movie expert. I had to look him up and found it interesting how many movies this guy has been in. I have seen one of them which is "Rush Hour". A good movie and I remember his character.

BEST ACTRESS

Halle Berry (Monster's Ball)

Judi Dench (Iris)

Nicole Kidman (Moulin Rouge)

Sissy Spacek (In the Bedroom)

Renee Zellweger (Bridget Jones's Diary)

Halle Berry was destined to be nominated one of these days. She reminds me of Angelina Jolie. Angelina Jolie won a bunch of awards for starring in an HBO original movie a few years ago then won an Oscar. Now it appears Halle Berry is doing the same.

Judi Dench's name seems to appear everywhere that gives awards out.

Was Nicole Kidman THAT good in the movie or is everyone just feeling sorry for her for how bad her personal life was last year?? I mean come on, all those years before Tom Cruise no one knew the woman existed, while she was married to him, she got one Golden Globe and not a single Oscar nomination. Then she has a bad year, breaking up with Tom Cruise and having a miscarriage, suddenly everyone is lining up to nominate her for every movie she did last year??

Sissy Spacek is the leading contender according to most opinions. I've seen a few of her movies and I'll admit she is a good actress.

Finally!! An actress nominated for a movie I saw and liked. Renee Zellweger gave a fantastic performance in "Bridge Jones' Diary". She did a british accent that was not only convincing but sounded natural and not faked. I'd love it if she won but I'm holding my breath.

BEST DIRECTOR

Robert Altman (Gosford Park)

Ron Howard (A Beautiful Mind)

Peter Jackson (The Lord of the Rings)

David Lynch (Mulholland Drive)

Ridley Scott (Black Hawk Down)

Okay, this is simple. In my opinion those movies that are nominated for best picture should be the ones to get nominated for Best Director. David Lynch and Ridley Scott don't stand a chance in this category. History says if your movie isn't nominated for best picture, you're not going to get the best director oscar. Same goes for Best Picture. No directing nomination, no chance for winning best picture.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Jim Broadbent (Iris)

Ethan Hawke (Training Day)

Ben Kingsley (Sexy Beast)

Ian McKellan (Lord of the Ring)

Jon Voight (Ali)

I have seen a couple of Jim Broadbent's movies. He wasn't too memorable in either. I guess he was in "Iris".

Ethan Hawke has never really impressed me much as an actor and I didn't see his nomination coming.

Ben Kingsley is ok and it is interesting to see someone being nominated for a movie called "Sexy Beast".

Ian McKellan looks to be the best chance.

Jon Voight I'm not a big fan of. In fact I've barely even heard of him since he did "Mission: Impossible".

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Jennifer Connelly (A Beautiful Mind)

Helen Mirren (Gosford Park)

Maggie Smith (Gosford Park)

Marisa Tomei (In the Bedroom)

Kate Winslet (Iris)

This one is a no brainer. Jennifer Connelly is going to walk away with it. Marisa Tomei hopefully has now proven that her win for "My Cousin Vinny" wasn't some fluke. Kate Winslet was seriously robbed for "Titanic". I'd like to see her finally win an Oscar but I'd rather it be in a leading acting category.

Well those are my opinions on the main nominations. I usually disagree with a majority of the ones the Academy picks to nominate.

I have a piece of advice for the Academy who wants big ratings. Pick movies to nominate that people have seen and like!! "Titanic" was a huge box office hit and got nominated for 14 Oscars. The ratings went thru the roof that year. If the Academy insists on nominating movies that only a very few have seen they are going to keep seeing the ratings go down. I agree that the movies that deserve recognition deserve to be nominated, but a lot of movies deserve that, why must the independant movies dominate the Oscars?? I've seen some of them and I can say with a high amount of certainty, that they are highly overrated.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005