newest entry

My Parents Anniversary

Saturday, Apr. 20, 2002 - 1:13 p.m.

Thursday was my parents' 27th wedding anniversary. Who would think they would last 27 years?? What with their bickering, lack of showing affection towards the other and neither of them seeming to be bothered if one of them is going to be out of town for awhile or work a little late. I sometimes have wondered if my parents just stayed married for the hell of it. They do say a few nice words to each other, and include the ocassional "I love you." Well whether they are still married because of love or lack of motorvation to get divorced is irrelevant. The point is they are still married and they don't appear to be heading to divorce court anytime soon.

My mother said that after she got back from a dentist appointment, if her teeth weren't hurting or being too numb we'd all go out and celebrate their anniversary. She implied her appointment was in the morning and we'd all probably go in the mid to late afternoon. So I thought I'd just wait until then to eat. However I call her yesterday at about 12 just to find out her appointment is at 1 and she thinks she won't be home until 4. Well I wasn't too thrilled by it but I figured I'd still wait to eat. My husband ate a couple sandwiches though and I probably should have too but I didn't. We go to my parents' house and it's almost 4 and my mother was still at the dentist's office.

By the time my parents did get in I was starting to feel a little sick from not eating. It didn't help when my mother said she had a headache and her mouth felt numb and wasn't sure if we were going. So there I was, starving, feeling sick and not sure if I should eat anything or not. Now I know it was my own damn fault I was feeling sick but if I'm going to go out to dinner I don't see the point to eating just before going and then not being very hungry at the resturant.

I got in a minor disagreement with my husband and my mother decided to come in and get in the middle of it. I hate when she does that. She throws herself in the middle and gives her opinions whether anyone wants them or not. In a polite not in so many words way I asked her to butt out which of course she didn't. Why should I be surprised?? The woman doesn't have it in her to stay out of anything.

Anyways my mother's mouth was getting less numb and her headache was still there but she said she could handle it. So we all get in one of their cars. My mother was driving and decided to use her cellphone to call the place she wanted to go to see what they had on the buffet. I didn't really want to go to that place because I didn't feel like riding in the car half an hour there and back. Not to mention she was swaying a bit while on the cellphone which didn't leave me with much confidence on her driving.

Instead of going to that resturant she went to a chinese resturant. Now I hate chinese food, I make no secret of this to anyone. My husband isn't a big fan of it either. My parents however love it and it was their anniversary so I didn't say much. Looking at the food as we passed by it on the way to a table I kept wondering if maybe it was going to start moving. Some of it looked like it was going to at any moment.

Well all I ate there were a few french fries, a bite of a chicken finger, a couple bites of pudding and a few strawberries. The chicken actually looked like a chicken's claw, I'm not kidding. The ketchup for the french fries was lumpy, I hate to guess what was making it lumpy. I had a piece of lettuce with ranch dressing which sounds better than it tasted. The pudding wasn't bad, could have been colder. They had an ice cream machine with chocolate syrup on the side. Well...the chocolate syrup was still in the bottle not in a bowl or something like you usually see it. The waitress was constantly coming by to take unused plates and such. Every 2 minutes she came and I was like "Are we being rushed??" The place wasn't very crowded so was the waitess just bored??

We spent the rest of the ride back to their house talking about my mother's teeth and how the dentist put some temporary bridge or something in there and she was upset by how it looked. We all thought she was overreacting but she was still upset. Funny how a mother tells you that looks don't matter but when it's their looks it matters A LOT!! Go figure. Not to slam waiters and waitresses but..is it just me or are waiters/waitress either TOO attentive or not enough??


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005