newest entry

My Parents Who Insist On Driving Us Crazy

2002-01-23 - 9:07 p.m.

It's the day after my father's birthday and I didn't get to see him at all on his birthday. He went to a ballgame and he didn't get home until late. First time I didn't get to see my father on his birthday. Of all birthdays to not see him on. My mother is taking him out for a birthday dinner tomorrow. My husband and I are invited to go. We'll probably go.

I'm wondering if my being somewhat depressed has got me moody and easily set off. I've gotten in minature fights with just about everyone lately. I got into a fight with my mother last night over something stupid. We just made up from it tonight. Well, I guess we made up..if saying a mutual sorry and agreeing to drop it is making up then that's what we did.

My father has gotten demanding in his soon to be retired self. He's been asking for tons of favors or as he puts them "just little things that's not asking for much". Let's see, he's asked me to download songs for him, send an e-mail to some company for him, (even though he knows how to do both) asking my husband to take out the trash for him, and sometimes asking us to do dishes. Now I don't mind doing things for my parents every now and then, my husband doesn't either, but I'm getting the feeling my father is taking advantage of it. For example, he drives home passed the mall every day on his way home from work. We're 10-15 minutes away from the mall. We bought him an expensive hat for his birthday. The place we bought it forgot to take some thing off of it. He asked us to take the hat back to the place and have them do it even though he drives right by the place. I teasingly said to my mother how my father is treating us as slave labor and my father said "Well it's the least you could do." Translation "It's the least you can do after the 18 years of raising you." I tried talking to my mother about this seriously and she just rolled her eyes and said she disagreed. The roll of the eyes was her way of saying that I was overreacting. My father doesn't do anything for himself anymore!! Like some nights he comes home, and my husband and I have come over to visit and my husband will go in another room to watch tv. My father will come in, see that my husband is in there, come over to me and say "Your husband is in the den, get him out of there." He's done this several times. I've told him he can go tell him he wants the den back and he said in a real huffy tone "I shouldn't have to..it's MY den and he's YOUR husband!!" You have to wonder about a man who won't tell someone he wants his room back and orders someone else to do it for him.

My parents are arranging their yearly vacation and want me and my husband to go with them. No offense but when you go on vacation, aren't you trying to get away from the things and people that drive you crazy?? My mother says my husband and I get to pick the place...anywhere in the country. Now that makes me think she's desperate for us to come. Why though?? Doesn't she spend enough time driving us crazy that she has to do it in a place where we can't get in a car and go home or slam the phone down?? Well, maybe she just doesn't want to be alone with my father for a week. Who knows??


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005