newest entry

The Police Report Of April 25, 1997

Sunday, Aug. 17, 2003 - 12:40 a.m.

Call me crazy but the other day I got a copy of the police report from about 6 and a half years ago. I wrote about it in this entry. Now I'm not completely sure why I wanted to get a copy of this. Maybe it was because I am a very curious person by nature and I wanted to see what all was said. Maybe it was because I wanted to see what all was there so I could say for sure I have a squeaky clean record in case I or anyone close to me decides to run for public office. Of course it could always be that I wanted to see if they still had it on file. Nahh it was the first two.

I went to several places trying to get it. I first went to the court house but they told me that since there was never a trial, they wouldn't have it. So I go to the police station. They try to tell me the incident never happened because where my parents' house is, where it happened isn't in their district.

Finally they say to go to the sheriff's office. I finally get there and I am told to go see some secretary on the other side of the building. Then I go there she tells me to go UPSTAIRS and talk to someone there. So I ask for it, they tell me it's probably not there but guess what. In less than 1 minute they find it!! The woman asks me why do I want it. Ummm because I want to blackmail myself??;)) I tell her just out of curiousity of wanting to know what's in it. I get a REALLY strange look for that. She says she has to go get approval for me to have it. WHY?!?! I'm the one who went to get the report made up in the first place. Although I was a bit surprised they didn't ask me to show ID. So I guess that means anyone can come along and get a police report on ANYONE. So much for confidentiality. Especially since at the time I was techincally a minor and those records are supposed to be sealed until the minor is dead. Oh well. They didn't even charge either. She came back after she got it approved, gave me the papers and out the door I was.

Now without further delay, here's pieces of the report. It tells the temperature outside was 62F. Now excuse me but what the hell does it matter what the damn temperature was?? It could have been 20 below and we all would have still been there. I'm surprised it doesn't say exactly what the cops and myself were wearing that day. They apparently call what happened a "family offense". Umm okay sure. "Nonviolent" is another term they use. No but the threats my mother made were full of violence.

According to this I am white female who was born on April 27, 1979. Well I can't argue with that. My parents are called the "offenders" and "the suspects". Oh really?!?!? Interesting phrasing I must say. It gets my mother's profession right..however it says my mother was unemployed. Yeah right..my mother has been employed nonstop for 30 years. Dec21 and I BOTH think she told the cops that she was unemployed so this wouldn't get back to where she works. Unbelievable. Always worrying about everyone else's opinion about everything.

Now here comes where the report that is written based on my statement. This has NOT been edited in any way:

##-#### FAMILY OFFENSE: The victim (my name) arrived at our office accompanied by an adult boyfriend and his mother. The victim explained that would be 18 years old in two days and that she had informed her parents that she would be leaving home. The victim went on to explain that her parents (suspects) stated that they would kill themselves if she left home. The mother also stated that they would kill the family animals, burn the house down and blow up the family's automobiles. After consulting with a magistrate and mental health, it was decided that both the parents should be interviewed by mental health. While reporting deputy was speaking to mental health via landline, the mother phoned our office to report her daughter missing. The mother was asked to come to our office to file a missing persons' report. When she arrived, she was advised that her daughter was also here and that she was OK. The mother, daughter and mental health worker met in our ECO for approximately 2 hours. No mental health action was initiated. As far as any threats being made in the past, the daughter wished no action on her behalf.

Well that's the unemotional shortened version the police came up with of the incident.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005