newest entry

Annoying Questions Relatives Ask

2002-03-05 - 6:54 p.m.

What is about relatives who insist on asking you questions that you really don't like to hear?? Maybe it's the way they ask, in that condescending tone. Perhaps it's that you don't like the answer you have to give. It could also be that relatives are so nosey it seems like they are almost prying into your life and telling you their opinions on it. Well whatever it is, here are some questions I have been asked. I'm sure I'm not the only one who has been asked these questions:

How's Your Love Life??

When I was single and I didn't have a boyfriend, I hated this question. Mostly because I hated the answer. Why do relatives ask this?? Don't they think if you were seeing someone you'd be either introducing them or talking about them?? Do they really think that with their extra nosey skills they wouldn't have already found out?? I finally found the perfect answer once. I was about 16 and my uncle asked how my love life was and I said "It's great, met a guy and we're eloping next week." He never asked about my love life again.

Why Is A Girl/Boy Like You Still Single??

I got asked that a couple times and everytime I heard it, it was like a reminder. Don't people see why that kind of question hurts to hear?? It's like they are asking if something is wrong with you or wondering what the problem is??

When Are You Going To Have Kids??

The main question I get asked nowadays. I hate being asked that question. It serves as a reminder to me that we don't have kids yet and it reminds me of the little girl we lost. Of course with my parents playing "Let's Keep This A Secret" about my daughter some of these relatives don't know. Others who do know still ask though.

When Are You Going To Come Visit??

I get asked this a lot and I'm always thinking the same thing. "Why can't you come here??" Why are they expecting us to visit them?? They know where we live and if they don't they can ask my parents for the exact address.

What happened to the time when getting married and having kids was something that WHEN they happened relatives were told?? Instead of relatives trying to either find out when they're going to happen in advance or trying to push for it. I came close to going off when one of my aunts said that it was "long overdue" that my husband and me make my father a grandfather. It's like a double standard. If you get married young everyone asks "Why did you get married so young??" If you're not married by a certain age everyone asks "Why aren't you married yet??" or "When are you getting married??" like there's something wrong with not being married yet. If you have kids when you're young or just after you get married they make comments like you're throwing away your young years or that you got pregnant and had to get married or something like that. But if you wait to have kids until the time is right they wonder what you're waiting for and if something is wrong.

Have relatives always been this way or is it just my annoying relatives??


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005