newest entry

Santa Claus/Santa Clause

2001-11-25 - 1:17 a.m.

Hello again. It's me, the chatty, opinonated, not yet certifiable individual. Watching "The Santa Clause" on tape. You know, you have to wonder who that movie is aimed at. If you say kids, which is probably the first answer that springs to mind, should kids who still believe in Santa Claus see it, with the insistance on it by adults that Santa Claus isn't real. Same adults who mimic adults who tell their kids that there IS a Santa Claus. Granted it proves all disbelieving adults wrong, but kids are going to wonder why the people in the movie insist there is a Santa Claus in front of their kids, then once the kids have their backs turned they are saying there isn't one. If the movie is for adults, well, I doubt that. I'd say it's a combination, but in my opinion they should have been a little more careful about what they said about Santa Claus and whether or not he exists. Just my opinion.

Speaking of Santa Claus, and I hope no one who still believes is reading this, but why does the myth of Santa exist to this day?? I'll admit it gives kids more enjoyment for Christmas, but come on. Doesn't anyone see this as lying?? Parents flat out lie to their kids, tell them that a person doesn't exist, just to set them up for a big disappointment when they find out the truth. My parents never told me the truth on their own. I had to hear it from 2 of my YOUNGER relatives, and then I had to beg my mother to tell me the truth. Is there something wrong there?? Looking back, I was really dumb when it came to Santa Claus. Did I not want to think that he didn't exist?? That I knew the truth and refused to see it?? Nope. My parents were just that good at keeping the myth of Santa Claus alive in my house. But when I look back, the signs were there, so clear and so obvious that I should have picked up on them. Such as, the note Santa would leave me in response to the milk & cookies I would leave him would be in my mother's handwriting. Presents from Santa would be under the tree before Christmas Day, even before Christmas Eve. We didn't have a chimney. Was I really that stupid or denying reality?? I'm going for the stupid reason. I was in shock when I was told the truth. I was upset. When a child learns the truth about Santa Claus, are they upset because of the lies that was told to them, or that they will never again know the excitment of trying to stay awake Christmas Eve waiting for Santa Claus to come and getting to sit on his lap with such excitment and nervousness they can barely remember their name much else what they want to ask Santa Claus for Christmas.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005