newest entry

My Soon To Be Graduating Cousin

2002-03-03 - 11:08 p.m.

We went to go see my cousin today. They got a new house and my husband and I had the guided tour today. We liked it and it looked somewhat like a house we've looked at and have considered buying. My cousin's youngest daughter was there and barely said two words to anyone. She hid out in her room for awhile, came out, said hi, then got on the phone. I'm not surprised though. Ever since she became a teenager and grew out of her "I'm telling" phase she's gotten quite stuck up in some ways. This is the same cousin who said "Wow, my sister is younger than you and already has 2 kids." I guess I don't need to say that this girl's censors on what to say and what not to say haven't been activated yet.

I remember when she was really young and would follow me around all over when we were with her and her family. If we were with them and going out to eat, she would always wait until I ordered then she'd get the exact same thing, the exact same way. She would talk thru movies and tell every single detail of it and tell what happens to every character the second they appear on the screen. She whined a lot and got upset easily. I liked her though at that time. She got on my nerves but at least then she was friendly or at least tried to be. As strange as this may sound, but I think I'd prefer her to be the way she was.

She's graduating this June and that really makes me feel kind of old. I think because of how young I can remember her being and I wasn't exactly old but I wasn't exactly a kid either. It seems like she should be in school a bit longer. She was born the year I started school and maybe that's it. I've been out of school for 5 years now and I'm not sure if that makes me feel more old or her graduating does. Maybe a combination.

You know, one thing that kind of bothers me is that my cousin (the girl I was just talking about's mother) is my first cousin and she's 16 years older than I am. If my father and his siblings are the first generation, and my father is the youngest in that generation, I'm the youngest in the next one and in a way I don't like it. I have 2nd cousins who are closer to my age than first cousins. My first cousins are grandparents and here I'm not even a parent yet. Am I the only one who finds that a little strange??


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005