newest entry

The Step-Grandmother/Aunt Dilema

2001-12-15 - 6:05 p.m.

Ahh, family..it's impossible to love all of them at the same time. My mother and I seem to have a love/love to bicker relationship. Most of the time we love each other, and the rest of the time we love to bicker back and forth with each other. I wonder sometimes if anyone has more relatives than I do. I have enough cousins to start a new city. I haven't even met half of them and I could probably only list the names of about 1/4 of them. Of course that's what you get when you have grandparents who decide it's their personal obligation to repopulate the earth 10 times over.

The current fight is my mother wanting me and my husband to go to my step-grandmother's(grandfather's 2nd wife) for the day tomorrow. Now I love my step-grandmother very much. I always will, but I just don't want to go tomorrow. I have several reasons. One of which is my aunt (whom I really care about as well) is going to be there as well and last time I talked to her she wanted to talk to me about a miscarriage I had recently. My mother doesn't understand. Yeah easy for her to say.

Am I wrong for not wanting to go?? It's nothing against my step-grandmother, or my aunt...but I know if my aunt brings it up and I'm sure she will, it's going to upset me. I can't hide from her forever and I don't want to. Another reason I don't want to go, is my step-grandmother always has these Christmas dinners. Well this year she's not having it, which is why my mother wants to visit her tomorrow. Well, when I was pregnant, I kind of had this image or day dream I guess of my husband, me and the baby going there for the Christmas dinner. I would think about her crawling or trying to walk all thru the house, giggling, playing and making her rounds to everyone. And she'd be wearing a little Christmas themed dress and be SO cute. Maybe this sounds crazy but considering I pictured that happening this Christmas, I just wouldn't feel comfortable or in the best of moods going there now. Am I wrong to feel that way??


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005