newest entry

I Didn't Kill Her, She Didn't Kill Me

Thursday, Jan. 02, 2003 - 10:55 p.m.

With that in mind I'd say the visit went okay. It could have gone better and it could have went worse.

I didn't sleep hardly at all last night. My mother thinks I was just nervous. Maybe but I think it was because I had slept most of yesterday and wasn't tired. When I finally did get to sleep, it was almost 9am and Dec21 woke me up at about 12 to say I had to get up and get ready. Why is it when you're the most comfortable in bed and able to sleep you have to get up??

We arranged to meet at an old store that closed so it could move to a new location. I was SO tired, I could have went to sleep in the car. Dec21 couldn't remember if he told her at the fast food resturant next to the store or the store. I think he said the store, he thinks he said the resturant. So he walked over to the resturant and I got out and waited, without a jacket in the cold to see this woman. She told Dec21 that if we weren't there she was going to go ahead and leave. Now that's almost too tempting.

She went to the fast food resturant. Typical..you could almost wonder if she did that to avoid me...but I'm not THAT paranoid although I wouldn't doubt it. Dec21 walked back and we drove the 100 feet to the resturant and I was like "Oh God this is it." We walked over to the door and waited for my mother in law and the foreign exchange student that's staying with her to come out. They were using the bathroom. I was really nervous..but not as much as usual. Maybe because I knew this visit wasn't going to be very long.

After a couple minutes, they walked out. The foreign exchange student did NOT look like what I expected. She had blonde hair, skinny, and was pretty. She looked like she could be a cheerleader that would go to my school and seemed nice. I said "Hi." My mother in law didn't respond and the girl said hi. Well there was some chit chat and it was decided where to go for lunch. My mother in law then said hi to me..about 2 minutes after I said "Hi". I then made an idiot of myself. I thought we were going to a different resturant and I said outloud that I thought Dec21 was wrong in the directions. I then realized my error and said "Never mind..ignore me..I'm an idiot."..to which I got no response from the Dynamic Duo (mother in law and the girl). On the way back to our car I was like "Oh why the hell did you do that??" Self peptalks are SO much fun aren't they??

We got to the resturant (IHOP) and my MIL (mother in law) asked to be seated in a non-smoking section. She knows Dec21 smokes but I doubt she gives a damn. We sat down and everyone was looking at menus. I knew what I was going to get but it still seemed weird being the only one at the table not looking thru the menu.

Dec21 showed his mother some bracelets he had made and he offered to give her one for Christmas. Her response was "I wouldn't wear it." However she did look at them for about 20 seconds but didn't take one. She suggested we send one to our neice. We offered one to the girl as well and without even looking she said, in a stuck up and very thick accent "I do not wear jewerly." No "thanks though", or "I appreciate it."

Lunch went okay I guess. I tried very hard to make conversation. The girl barely talked and when questions were asked she used head gestures to respond. Funny..I was too nervous and shy to talk during the first visit to my in laws and I was accused by my MIL of being rude and unfriendly..this girl does it and it's fine. This time I talked more than I used to and I thought my MIL would respond to that. She didn't. She would look at me every now and then while I was talking, she'd answer any questions I had..but that was it. I expressed sincere condolences that her mother was dying..I didn't get a response to that. Not a "thanks" or "okay" or even a nod. It was like I was invisible and I KNOW she heard me say it. The woman spoke to the waitress more than she did me!! She even spoke to the girl but me..I was ignored. Anytime I tried to make conversation she would turn to Dec21 and talk to him, asking him questions. He tried to brag about me a little to her..and one thing he mentioned was telling her I was going to go back to school soon. He said he and I were both wanting to and I knew what classes I wanted to take and had a bigger head start on than him. Her response to that?? Nothing about me..all she wanted to know if he was going to go and that he needed to decide quick. I told her classes don't start until later this month. She said "I know that's why he has to hurry." I could be declared queen of the world and she still wouldn't be happy.

After lunch she wanted us to show her how to get back to the interstate. I hoped we could get her lost but it didn't happen. I didn't get a good bye or anything else. In fact the only thing she really said to me was "hi." and that was a delayed response to my saying hi. Anything else said was in response to what I had asked and NOTHING more. I told her a couple funny stories and made a few comments..but all that got was being ignored.

I gave it as much effort as I could. I was nice, sincere, talkative (which is what she always says I'm not enough) sweet and considerate. And what did I get out of her?? A delayed "hi", meeting a stuck up girl with a thick accent who barely talked and acted like we were all idiots, and a meal I spent a majority of the time worrying I was going to spill on me.

Now some have said "Well now you don't have to see her for awhile." Oh contraire my friend..she said she thinks she'll be back in the area within a month or two if her mother dies which everyone thinks she will. Would I be a bad person if I start praying that her mother lives??


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005