newest entry

A Threat By Any Other Name Would Still Suck

Monday, Dec. 09, 2002 - 12:36 a.m.

I got threatened today. That's probably not a big shock. Everyone at some point has been threatened in some way or another by someone else. The big shock here is who the person was who made the threat. It was MY father!! My own father who has the same blood type as me, ignored me a lot while growing up and was hoping for a boy before I was born but is still supposed to love me anyways, THREATENED ME!!

My mother and I love each other. There is NO question about that. We just can't get along sometimes. If you ask me she's to blame, if you ask her, I'm to blame. Last night she and I got in one fight after another but I already wrote about that. Well my husband and I went Christmas shopping with my parents today. It seemed to be going okay. Well at one store, just my father and I went in. I wanted to get something for my hubby without him seeing and my father knew where it was in the store.

I was trying to be friendly and make chit chat. However my father turned to me as we were walking to the store and said "You better start treating your mother better or I'm going to come after you and beat your hide." Hmm..now call me crazy but I call that a threat!! His tone was serious and he kept going after that. Well first I tried to defend myself, but it didn't work. All thru the store I kept getting bitched at and saying how I treat my mother so badly. Yeah sure, I'm such a bitch and my mother is this halo wearing, can't do no wrong, perfect creature who is SO sweet to her horrible ungrateful daughter.

My father pointed out that he told her the same exact thing he's telling me. Pardon me while I laugh my ass off. My father is scared of my mother. The only time he'd ever threaten her is if he had a desire to get the hell beat out of him by her. However I did ask him what he said. His response was "Same thing I told you." Yeah sure..I knew that was bull shit so I kept asking for the exact words. He then said "I said you two need to start treating each other better." Well now that's not exact is it dear father??

We walked back to the car and I was upset. Who wouldn't be if their own father threatened them?? I told my husband a little about it but I didn't give him details just yet. We then stopped at the grocery store. I told my husband about it and my mother and at first she thought I was overreacting then she started bitching at my father. She alleged she bitched at him more while my husband and I were at a video store. Anyways after my father heard me telling her, he gave me a very evil look. The kind of look you give someone when you want so badly to just wipe them off the face of the earth. I've never seen my father give me that look before!!

After my husband and I went to the video store we walked over to the grocery store to where my parents were. From what my husband said my father was trying to get my husband to go ahead of him. He said my father was glaring in my direction during that time and seemed to want to talk to me. My husband just stood there, waiting for me to come up and walk with him. What my father wanted to say right then I'm not too sure I want to know.

My father avoided me like the plague during most of the time we were there. If I was going in one direction towards him, he'd be sure to turn around and go the other way. He did talk to me for a minute later on. Actually I said the first word and asked if he was mad at me. He said "I thought you said you weren't going to tell anyone what I said." Now first of all..I NEVER said that..my father probably would have preferred that though. Second of all..isn't that kind of a scary thing to hear from your father?? That they don't want you to tell something bad about what they've done?? Then he said to just "let it die". He said he won't say anything more about it and I won't say anymore about it. Yeah sure..let's just forget it. Let's just forget that you, my own father, threatened to beat the hell out of me..your own daughter!! Let's just forget everything you've ever done we should just "let die". Sure dear father..let's just forget like you apparently have forgotten to love your child and never want to see them hurt or never hurt them!!

I thought my mother was on my side. My husband was. He said that my father would never lay a hand on me and if he did he'd take care of it. That made me feel better. At least someone likes me!! To be honest, the threat did scare me a little..not as much as upsetting me that my father..as usual takes my mother's side on EVERYTHING no matter how much or how little he knows of a situation. Tonight my mother started bitching at me because I was still upset about the threat. She got all mad and said my father didn't mean anything by it. I was then told by her how overly sensitive I am, that no one can say anythin to me and that she's going to tell my father to just not say another word to me ever again. Yeah sure..blame me. As I said before..everything IS my fault after all..might as well keep the tradition going.

My mother bitched at me and said I was "dangerous" because of how sensitive I was getting and taking my father's threat serious. Well gee who wouldn't have?? As I said to her..I didn't fully think he'd do anything..but the fact is..my father shouldn't be saying things like that!! Am I overreacting?? Did he have a right to say it even if NOW my mother insists he didn't mean it?? Yeah sure, his serious tone, dirty look, and going on and on about it is all some big joke he's playing on me. Yeah, so where's the punchline?? And here's a question..if he was just KIDDING..and now he knows I was upset about it and took it serious..shouldn't he apologize?? Oh no no no no..of course not. My parents can't do anything wrong. They are perfect and if someone gets upset by something they do..it's not their fault. My father never apologizes for anything unless you remind him then he's like "I did apologize." Yeah sure.

So now my parents are wanting me to just let this go and stop being so sensitive. According to them I am to blame for the threat. It's my fault it was said and it's my fault I got upset by it. I guess it's also my fault that my mother's hair is turning grey and my father is almost bald. Give them time..they'll find a way to blame me for that too.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005