newest entry

Thanksgiving Day..Yay!! (Note: Sarcasm)

Thursday, Nov. 28, 2002 - 3:00 p.m.

Well it finally happened. It took 4 long weeks of November to get to but Thanksgiving has finally arrived. Time for families to get together whether they like it or not, give thanks, and stuff their faces and spend the rest of the day watching football and wondering how they're going to lose the weight they just gained. Let's see, families getting together..well we're at my parents' house..so got that covered. Giving thanks I haven't officially done today, but I do it every day. I have NO interest in watching football any other day of the year why would I watch it now?? I don't even like watching parades on tv on Thanksgiving. As for losing the weight I just gained, I'm on a diet anyways so that's taken care of.

Yes I said I don't like the parades on tv. Sorry folks, but parades just don't thrill me. To me, parades is just another way the networks have found not to air tv shows that I actually do like.

Not to sound like the Scrooge of Thanksgiving, but Thanksgiving just doesn't interest me that much. I don't eat all that much anyways and Thanksgiving food is okay but nothing to get all excited about. My husband and I see my parents almost every day so that's not something different. My husband and I work at home so we don't get extra days off. Less shows on tv are on. Granted there is a lot of movies on but I like the movies, not the holiday. Maybe losing the baby had something to do with it. Thinking about the baby having Thanksgiving turkey and looking all cute while she got gravey and mashed potatoes all over self. Perhaps I never really liked Thanksgiving, it was just that in school I mostly looked forward to it because it got me out of school Maybe all that time, I thought I liked Thanksgiving for other reasons was just an illusion.

For Thanksgiving dinner everyone got together (well except my father who never really helps with anything) and made a big meal. All the expected foods for Thanksgiving was included. I ate a few pieces of turkey, rolls, mashed potatoes and chocolate and peanut butter chips. Hey the chocolate and peanut butter chips were on sale and looked good. To be honest, if McDonald's wasn't closed I was going to get a couple hamburgers.

For the record I don't look down on anyone who does celebrate Thanksgiving and really enjoys it. I just lack the interest in the holiday. Now that I think about it, I don't think it was growing up that caused it. When I was growing up, for awhile we went to one of my father's sisters for Thanksgiving and I got to see some of my relatives. That I enjoyed. Then as I got a little older as in early to mid teens my elderly neighbors (adopted grandmother, her sister that died recently and the sister's husband) would come over and have dinner with us. Granted I would just grab a plate of stuff, go in the den, shut the door and watch movies all day but it was still a tradition I looked forward to. Now that they have died, it's like all we do is just get together, fix a few things, watch a bit of tv and that's it. Where's the special tradition in that?? We do that almost everytime we go over to my parents' house.

Maybe if our daughter had lived I would be more into it. We'd be trying to make the Thanksgiving special for her each year. So maybe it's not really my fault I lack the interest in Thanksgiving. Maybe it's just that around here, Thanksgiving has lost most of the things that made it different and special from other days. Except for the parades and slight difference in the menu, this day doesn't feel any different than other days.

But not to be an old sour puss to everyone else..Happy Thanksgiving!!


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005