newest entry

Update & Depression

2002-01-22 - 7:11 p.m.

Time for an update on the last few days.

We finally got the cake. If you want to see a picture click HERE. It came out looking good. Here's what each symbol means:

The VT symbols is for one of his favorite colleges that he watches play on tv. I personally think the team is overrated but that's my opinion.

There's a Nascar flag for one of his favorite sports, Nascar. I used to be a fan but I lost interest last year after Earnhardt died. I wasn't a fan of Earnhardt, but me and my husband saw his wreck live, and nascar racing just doesn't seem that good to watch anymore. It's like watching real combat in a war live. It's just a bunch of cars bumping into each other, going round and round a track, where wrecks are always happening and death is a realistic possibilty that is often realized. M

My father is a fan of football, but he's a bigger fan of basketball and the woman who did the cake had a hard time drawing the basketballs. How hard could it be?? You draw a orange circle, color it and and draw 3 black lines on it. But anyways...considering my artistic skills are only slightly above bad I can't really comment too much on it

The "I Love USA" logos are pretty self explanatory. No matter what the USA's faults are, it's still one of, if not the best countries to live in. I didn't used to realize just how good it is to live in U.S.A. Sure other countries have a lot of the same things we do, but do they have them all??

The Happy Birthday signs I don't think need an explanation.

The bowling pin is another symbol of a sport my father loves. He's not bad at it at all.

The tv is a symbol of how he spends his evenings if he's not at a ballgame, working or exercising.

The paintbrush is a symbol of what his job is.

Good thing we took that picture because what's left of the cake looks nothing like that now.

I saw one of my best friends yesterday. She brought her son and her mother with her. Seeing her was like a double whammy. That probably doesn't make sense but let me explain. Her son is almost 2 years old and I was pregnant with our child at the same time she was pregnant with her son. He was born when I was almost done with my first trimester. Seeing him is kind of a reminder. I love her son just as much as if he was really my nephew and in many ways I feel like he is. He's a real sweetie. The other reason it was kind of upsetting seeing her is because we rarely see each other. She lives about 6-7 hours away now and we see each other on average now 2 times a year. Last year we saw each other only once and that was a few days after my birthday. We talk on the phone every week, and e-mail each other and talk online almost every day but it's not the same. We used to see each other almost every single day. Her son will be 2 in a few months and I've seen him in person a total of 5 times, same amount of times I've seen her since he was born. When me and her do see each other it's usually only for a couple hours. We used to spend every birthday together. The last time we did that it was 4 years ago. I knew when she moved to be with her now husband I was going to miss her and we wouldn't see each other much, but I didn't think we'd only see each other twice a year if that. We exchanged Christmas presents yesterday. Four weeks after Christmas when we used to not be able to wait until Christmas to do it. The friendship is still there, and it's still as strong as ever which is good. This isn't an exaggeration but it's so long between each time we see each other, her hair is completely different lengths each time.

My mother's health is looking good. She hasn't had any dizzy spells in weeks. She's been wearing a heart monitor for a couple weeks and she's getting sick of it. The doctor told her she even had to wear it in the shower. That must be fun..NOT!!

I feel like I'm in a bit of a depression for various reasons. I still think about the baby we lost, I worry about people around me, I'm upset over barely getting to see my friend, my parents don't understand me, and I'm upset over my looks. I've never liked how I look so that's nothing new. As for my parents, sometimes I feel like I don't exist around them. They give me the impression that they don't think much of me. I mean for example, if my parents need something done, they ask my husband or each other. When I offer to help they will refuse it, saying "If (one of them) can't do it, you surely can't do it." My father will get snacks for everyone but he almost always gets a snack everyone knows I don't like. Like a couple weeks ago he got doughnuts with cream filling, something I hate. He got 6 of them and that's it. When asked about it he said "Well I know (me) don't like them, so I didn't offer any but I know everyone else does." What kind of answer is that?? Last night he was putting the ice cream away and me and my husband were over there and he asked my mother if she wanted any ice cream. She said no. He asked my husband. He said no. So he said "Okay." and put it away. I was like "Umm, am I invisible??" Sometimes if we're at my parents' house he'll get a snack, then ask everyone BUT me if they want to share any of it. He claims he doesn't think I'd want any so he doesn't ask. Whether I'd want any or not doesn't matter..sometimes just being asked is enough.

My marriage is great which I thank God for everyday. Sometimes I've considered mentioning some of this to him, but I'm not sure how to phrase it without sounding like an idiot.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005