newest entry

Update On Me, My Husband, My Mother & My Father

2002-03-11 - 11:28 p.m.

I considered doing an "Opinions On Current Headlines" entry but I need to work on a few other things so that'll have to wait. Not to mention there aren't that many headlines worth commenting on right now.

My mother is getting screwed in her job basically. Where she works the bosses want her and the people she work with to take on complicated extra tasks that isn't really their job and not get paid for it. Apparently it was decided by OTHER people in different departments that they would be the ones to do it. This decision was made months ago but my mother and the people she works with were just informed last week. I'm surprised they were told at all by how this place works. This is the kind of place that expects you to do your job, tolerate the people that are pains, do whatever is asked of you, even if it's not in your job description, do it with a smile and not complain. Wait a minute, that's all jobs. Okay, ignore that last comment.

This place is messed up and I think she should get out of there. She might though, she almost quit last week. It's the kind of place that people who aren't working there, think is all great and wonderful, and the people who work there at hearing all the compliments roll their eyes and know better. Wait a minute, again I just described just about all jobs. Okay, now seriously, these people who run this place she works at have no consideration for their employees and expect to get as much out of them without having to fork over the cash for it.

My father has started his training to be a bus driver. His instructor told him today that if he had actually been driving out in public, he would have killed 3 people. I hope he gets better otherwise I think me and my husband are going to have to find other roads to get to places and not be on the same route as my father. When my father told my husband and me what his instructor said, I looked at my father and said "You could be in the remake of 'Speed'." The woman, Annie (played by Miss. Bullock herself) who drives the bus in that movie was driving into everything, almost hitting people and she was praised for it.

My husband is writing a rather long story that I'm quite curious about. He's got nearly 200 pages of it written and I think he should try to get it published. He won't though. He's a good writer and I think he has a good chance of getting some of what he writes published. Well, maybe I can talk him into letting me put it up on the web for others to read at least. My one complaint about ONE of his stories is that it isn't 100% realistic and that shouldn't bother me but in a way it does. I think it bothers me because he wants it to be realistic. No offense, but an 18 year old guy who is a virgin having dozens of girls throwing themselves on him to have a one night stand with him isn't my idea of realistic. Typical male fantasy I guess. Other than that his stories are extremely good and interesting.

He usually writes them in first person and has a way of really grabbing the reader's attention and is great at giving details so the reader can picture the scenes in their mind. He also seems to get the characters well liked and so you want to know more about them and you want to know what happens to them.

The story he's currently working on I begged him to reintroduce a character I really liked. I also want that character and his main character to get together in the end. It surprises me a bit how much I got into this story and it's not even finished yet.

I wish he'd try to get some of these stories published. I am so sure they could attract the interest of some publisher somewhere.

As for me..well..I spent all day today working on redesigning the journal and I think I'm going to do some more with it. I talked to a friend of mine the other night. She has an almost 2 year old son who fell. He was screaming and crying so loudly. She also said he was limping which got me more worried. I almost got tears hearing him and I wanted to just hold him and comfort him. I begged her to take him to a doctor or the emergency room but she wouldn't. Maybe I overreacted but I just couldn't stand hearing how much he was crying. I stopped short of insisting she take him to the hospital because every time I try to give her advice on him I get the old "you don't have kids, you don't know" speech that I dread so much from her.

I'm debating about whether or not I should keep the marque. (the little scrolling line up top with words) I like having it and it's handy to have when I change the design or add something but I feel like I have to write a message in it every single day and I'm running out of things to put in it. We'll see I guess. Last week I got so desperate to fthink of something to put in there I wrote "2 Weeks Until Spring!!".


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005