newest entry

Valentine's Day

2002-02-14 - 10:35 a.m.

I just spent the last several hours redesigning this journal AGAIN!! I think I finally have it exactly the way I want. I added a few things and I'm going to try to add more. When I started this journal I thought I'd write entries and that was it. Then I started wanting to change a thing or two, add a few colors here and there. Now I figure if this is MY journal, I might as well personalize it as much as possible and make it more than entries. I think it looks damn good. I am curious though what others will think but if they don't like it, I won't care. As I've said from the beginning this journal is for me not everyone else.

Today is Valentine's Day!! Yay!! I love Valentine's Day. For Valentine's Day I got my husband several things.One was a card that's perfectly themed for us. We debate all the time about who loves who more. I'll always say I love him more. Well the card had a couple going back and forth saying "I love you more", "No I love you more". When you open it, it says "Something tells me we'll be making people puke for a very long time. Happy Valentine's Day". hehe I wrote inside it "I love you more than anything or anyone. XOXO. You're the best thing that's ever happened to me or ever will." I also bought him dinner a couple days ago. I also got him a box of candy and a key inside of a container in the shape of a heart. The key is a regular key with green (my favorite color) on it. The key is to represent that he has the key to my heart. I got one in blue as well which is his favorite color. The blue is to represent the key to his heart. That way I keep that one and he keeps the other one and we will always have the key to each other's hearts at all times.

We exchanged presents the other night. We are both kind of sneaky and it's always hard hiding presents for each other, especially when we know the other has gotten something. He was a little puzzled by the key at first but when I explained it to him he really liked it. He put the key on his set of keys instantly. That really made me happy and I have the other key with me at all times in my camera bag which I ALWAYS have with me.

As for what he got me..he got me candy and a DVD I really wanted. He says I'm getting more today. Of course that's got me curious. hehe It's strange but in some ways it's easier to shop for my husband for Valentine's Day than for Christmas or his birthday. He'll rarely tell what he wants for those 2 days. For Valentine's it's easy because I pick something I think is romantic, a little different and something with a lot of thought into it. I don't have to worry about whether or not it's at the top of his wish list.

I asked my parents yesterday what they are going to do for each other for Valentine's Day. Usually my father gets my mother flowers. Yesterday when I asked, we went out with them to dinner and their response to my question was "This is it." Am I the only one who finds that a little..strange?? A couple chooses to celebrate Valentine's Day by going out to dinner with their daughter and son in law?? How is that romantic??

My parents have never really shown affection much towards each other. So maybe I shouldn't find it too surprising. Basically he lives his life, she lives hers, and once a day they meet up and compare notes about their days. I think that's kind of sad. Some days when they are both home they will talk a little more. They may go a few places together. But usually they just ignore each other. He goes in one room for the evening, she goes in another. In many ways it seems like they are unofficially divorced.

I couldn't imagine me and my husband being like my parents. I love him SO much and he's not only the person I love more than anyone or anything but he's also my best friend. I always look forward to Valentine's Day or other holidays with him because he is so sweet and unpredictable for them. He is without a doubt the most romantic person I've ever met. The most romantic thing he ever did wasn't done right on a hoilday strangely enough. It was a few years ago when we were dating. We lived 200 miles apart and Christmas was coming and we weren't going to be able to spend it together. I was upset but I tried to take comfort in the fact that we could at least talk on the phone on Christmas and he was going to visit a few days after Christmas. Well, as I've mentioned before his birthday is a few days before Christmas and his mother went to him and asked him what he wanted for his birthday. He told her he didn't want anything for himself, but he wanted her to send me a dozen roses as a Christmas present and have that count as his present from her. She did that and I was SO surprised when they came. I almost cried when I got them and found out what he had done. I never used to understand how woman always claimed to cry because they were so happy. Ever since I met my husband I've been understanding it more and more. He is SO sweet I can't believe it sometimes. He sends sweet little e-mails, and buys things for no reason other than for the heck of it. I often wonder what did I ever do to deserve him. He's so wonderful and I just don't know what I'd do without him. Why does he love me SO much?? He could do SO much better.


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005