newest entry

Christmas Day

2001-12-25 - 9:41 p.m.

It's Christmas night and in many ways it still doesn't feel like Christmas should even be close. I thought I'd be up early this morning to start celebrating Christmas but I didn't wake up until early afternoon. It was a good Christmas. I got presents I really like, everyone else liked their presents as well, and everyone was safe and healthy.

One present however didn't exactly work out well. One of the presents I got my husband was a computer game that requires a credit card to play. Excuse me?!!? Is something wrong there!??! Why should you need a credit card to play it?? If they want proof of your age why don't the stores just card you before you buy it?? Apparently after you give them your credit card number they expect you to call long distance numbers to find out more about the game and how to play it, and then you have to start paying a monthly fee to keep playing it after awhile. You have to wonder just how stupid the people who make these games think everyone is. We don't have credit cards, by choice I'd like to add and my mother doesn't believe in giving her credit card number over the internet. We're going to take the game back, and hopefully get a refund or exchange it.

Why do I not believe in credit cards?? I have a simple answer to that question. If you want to know the answer, ask someone who has a bunch of credit cards and ask them how far into debt they are because of them. Credit cards put you in debt, have such a high interest rate on them that by the time you pay off what you charged on it you basically bought the item twice. Credits cards also offer too much temptation to use when you probably shouldn't. Credit cards are dangerous things, and they can get you into debt faster than a school loan or a new house can. If there is something I want bad enough, that isn't a house or a car, then I'll just wait until I have the money to buy it or put it on layaway and make no interest payments.

I saw a sign outside of a church that had a message on it many forget. It reads "Remember, Jesus is the REASON for the SEASON." I like that message. Some people do remember that Christmas was originally designed to celebrate the birth of Jesus. Unfortunately many people forget that, and think all Christmas is getting presents and eating a big meal with 3 days left of leftovers. Don't get me wrong, I like the presents, the songs, movies, and the deocorations, but I know that Christmas has more of a meaning than that.

I always tell people that all I need for a happy Christmas or a happy birthday or actually for any holiday to be really good is my husband. I still feel that way and I always will. Sometimes he says he'll put a bow on his head and present himself Christmas morning. He never does but the image is fun to imagine. :))


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005