newest entry

Why Do I Watch Some Types Of Movies??

Tuesday, May. 07, 2002 - 2:06 p.m.

Why do I watch certain movies and tv shows when they upset me?? I'm watching a movie on the Lifetime Movie Network. I've seen it before but I just started watching it again a few minutes ago. It's called "Heart Of A Child". Yeah you can get a pretty good idea about what it's about. Apparently one woman is pregnant with a baby that doesn't have a brain or something. Another woman is pregnant with a baby that's heart is messed up. So they take the one baby who has a good heart and gives it to the one with the bad heart.

Watching this couple whose baby is giving up the heart and eventually dies is so hard. The things the doctor says like the baby is dying, and watching her face turn blue is making me think of the baby we lost. Part of me is envious of the couple for at least having some time with their baby before it dies, another part of me can't help but feel that I would be paniced if we were holding our daughter and knowing she was slowly dying as each second passed. It doesn't help that the baby whose dying in this movie is a girl. They keep showing close ups of the baby, something I really didn't need to see. Why am I watching this movie?? If I had any sense at all I'd turn the channel. The movie doesn't even have a good ending. Yeah sure the other baby lives, but at the end it says that the mother of the baby who died later loses her husband. Oh yeah this is a movie I should watch..NOT!!

If Melissa Gilbert, Valerie Bertinelli and Patty Duke are the queens of tv movies, then Michele Green is the queen of tv movie pregnancy. This is the 3rd movie I've noticed her being pregnant in. Each time something bad happened. Like in this movie her baby is born without a brain or something, I wish I could what it was exactly, and the baby dies. In "She Woke Up Pregnant" (fitting title) she got pregnant from being raped by her dentist while she was unconscious in his recovery room. In "One Child Too Many" she gets pregnant because she wants to be a surrogate mother and finds out she's having twins and the couple she's carrying them for say "Oh we just want one, not two..sorry." I guess if there's a movie on those septuplets that were born she'll play the mother!!

I think I should have just watched "A Baby Story" instead of this. I'm still watching this movie, against my better judgement. Although I've almost cried and I have a feeling I'm going to.

Some people like movies that they can relate to. Well in the case of this movie and being able to relate to losing a child, I think I'd rather not see movies that relate to me in that way thank you very much.

ALSO WRITTEN TODAY

An Entry That Took Two Hours To Officially Start 1:24AM


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005