newest entry

A Story I Wrote

2002-03-31 - 5:24 a.m.

I wrote this awhile back. I've changed a bit of it and added to it. I know it's not Shakespeare but is anyone really?? The following short story is written in first person.

The plan is simple. It's been thought out, discussed with a few, and even written down. It shouldn't take more than 5 minutes to complete, maybe even less time.

The gun is in my jacket. It's out of sight where even the best security guard wouldn't be able to spot it. I take a glance around. An elderly man in a security guard's uniform is speaking to a young child. The old man smiles as does the child.

My nerves start to frazzle. I feel my palms getting sweaty and my hands shake slightly. I can't back out now though. A lot of money is at stake. "Get it together" I tell myself.

I catch a glimpse of a young lady in front of a teller box who just finished saying good bye to an elderly woman. I walk towards her, a smile emerges from her young face. She keeps the smile as she says hello. I don't speak at first. I mumble a few words, loud enough to be heard though. The words are "I have a gun, give me the money now." It takes a couple seconds for the words out of my mouth to register into her brain. She looks at me for a second and nods. She looks at the elderly man with the child as if she was hoping to signal to him but it does no good.

I watch her, as she opens her drawer and starts removing the money. I take a deep breath, as I'm feeling each second drag out. Each second appearing to last longer than the previous one.

I rearrange the gun that was still in my jacket pocket. As I do this the elderly security guard catches a look in my direction. He sees the tip of the gun. I look up as he's looking at me. I know he's seen it. I'm positive of it. He knows. He slowly starts walking towards me. The child who was with him walks back to it's mother.

I turn my back to the security guard so I can face the young lady putting the money into a bag. Maybe the security guard doesn't know. I hear the security guard reach his desitination. He's 7 feet behind me, the gun from his holster is being taken out, safety being taken off, and aimed in my direction. This doesn't go unnoticed by other people in this place. They either duck or start screaming.

I take a deep breath as I look up at the teller. She doesn't say anything. I could grab her, use her and claim her as a hostage but I don't. Instead I turn around slowly, my hand going into my jacket pocket. Without hesistation I hear a shot. It's not coming from my gun. I look down and there is a red liquid on my shirt. It's increasing. I fall to the floor, the red liquid now forms a puddle on the floor.

My hand comes out of my pocket and lays next to my body. People rush to me. My eyes flutter as I look at everyone. I hear the words "Call an ambulance." The elderly guard looks at me, takes my hand in his and says "Hold on young one." I look at him, squeeze his hand back. The puddle on the floor increases. Mumbles and screams of shock overlap each other all around me.

My eyes begin to close, as the grip I had on the elderly guard slowly lessens until he is holding my hand but I am no longer holding his back. My eyes are fully closed as I suddenly hear a voice. A voice I recognized as hearing many times before. The person behind the voice said only one word. It was a word I had been waiting to hear: "CUT!!"

In case you can't figure it out and I hope you can, the whole thing was a scene in a movie. None of it was real.

ALSO WRITTEN TODAY

Insomnia?? 4:27AM
Easter 6:47PM


Who Links Here

This Journal (including Laci Peterson banner) Was Designed And Is Written By November9.
Copyright: 2001-2005